Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Board and Card Games > Card Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2018, 03:00 PM   #1
saulres
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Default Knightmare Chess: Intentional Stalement Permissible?

I was losing the game and decided a stalemate was better than a loss. My opponent had a Warlord and a Queen, and I had just a King.

I moved my King into a corner, then built a Fortification around the square. My thinking was, if my opponent couldn't remove it, when my turn rolled around it'd be a stalemate.

My opponent argued that I was not allowed to do that. My question is: Was I? I know I can't leave myself in an impossible situation, or in check, but I don't think intentional stalemate is disallowed.
saulres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2018, 03:53 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Knightmare Chess: Intentional Stalement Permissible?

I don't see anything preventing intentional stalemate in the rules or the FAQ. There's an analogous question in the FAQ that talks about what happens when the King can't return to the board after Under Elf Hill, and it says explicitly that you've created a stalemate because you have no legal moves.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
If you have a question that isn't getting answered, we have a thread for that.

Let people like what they like. Don't be a gamer hater.

#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2022, 07:57 AM   #3
lucienpsmith
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Default Re: Knightmare Chess: Intentional Stalement Permissible?

Knightmare Chess doesn't care about intention, only about board state (pieces and cards played). So putting a fortress around your king after it's been moved to a corner can legally create a stalemate condition.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
I don't see anything preventing intentional stalemate in the rules or the FAQ. There's an analogous question in the FAQ that talks about what happens when the King can't return to the board after Under Elf Hill, and it says explicitly that you've created a stalemate because you have no legal moves.
lucienpsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.