Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-06-2021, 04:12 AM   #1
wacktorious
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Default Cleric's Resurrection on Kick Open The Door?

During a lovely day of Munchkin gaming with my friends last night (all of us fairly new to the game), I came across something that feels like an exploit - basically an easy win. I am wondering if we have understood the ruling/wording incorrectly and thus ended up cheating during our gameplay. For reference, we have the Munchkin Deluxe game.

I became a Cleric and when it was time for me to Kick Open The Door (which is face-up) I decided instead to take a Level 1 monster from the discard pile and discarding a card from my hand. I then used this monster to Look For Trouble and could easily beat it, gaining a level and treasure.

Here's the part which feels broken: The Level 1 monster I picked from the discard pile was quite far down in the pile, for argument's sake let's say the 10th card, meaning I took 10 card from the discard pile, then discarded 9 of these recently picked cards, kept the monster card and discarded 1 card from my hand.
We understood the wording on the card as: when you are about to draw a card face-up (Kick Open The Door), you can instead draw any amount of cards from the Door discard pile. Once those cards are drawn they become part of your hand. Now you must discard an equal amount of cards back into the discard pile.

This would eventually allow me to use this Resurrection exploit every turn to pull out a Level 1 monster from the discard pile, easily defeat it, and within 9 turns I would win the game.

Please advise
wacktorious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2021, 09:46 AM   #2
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Cleric's Resurrection on Kick Open The Door?

Resurrection would only let you take the top card of the discard pile.
You are only allowed to resurrect as many card as you are allowed to draw face-up. Kick-in-the-door only allows you to draw one card, so you can only resurrect one card.
You would not be looking-for-trouble. The monster you draw from the discards replaces the card you would get from the door kick-in, which does not go into your hand when you draw a monster. Therefore, you would be in-combat with that monster as soon as you resurrected it.
Brf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.