Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 07-03-2022, 08:03 PM   #1
Coinage

Default Does warp drive render space warfare obsolete?

Hello everyone, I was reading up on the TV Tropes page on the "Alcubierre Drive", I was wondering how to incorporate into a relatively hard Sci-fi space warfare setting, but I am at a snag.

Let us assume that in the future, scientists figure out how to make viable Alcubierre-like warp drives. However, thinking about it, how exactly would space warfare work with such a warp drive? I'm not good with math, but wouldn't a starship moving FTL would be virtually impossible to detect, and be essentially a planet killer? Even a practical wall of super-advanced military drones would not be able to protect a planet and detect and intercept a starship using warp-drive.

Personally, my own thinking would probably to incorporate something like the "Slow Zone" effect as seen in The Expanse. Basically, a godlike alien race creates a "portal network" that allows for FTL travel, but attaches an upper-speed limit in the surrounding space.

Maybe I am missing something. If so, please let me know. Thanks for the replies.
Coinage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2022, 08:22 PM   #2
David Johnston2

Default Re: Does warp drive render space warfare obsolete?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coinage View Post
Hello everyone, I was reading up on the TV Tropes page on the "Alcubierre Drive", I was wondering how to incorporate into a relatively hard Sci-fi space warfare setting, but I am at a snag.