Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Board and Card Games > Ogre and G.E.V.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
Old 10-03-2016, 10:56 AM   #1
Eugee
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Default Rules Clarification Needed

Optional Rules, 13.01 Damage to terrain and roads.

This part makes sense. Terrain is D4. On a D all roads/tracks are cut, and forests/towns are damaged. On DD or X, forests/towns are rubble. Swamps/clear can have roads cut, but not a terrain change. Easy stuff.

Then 13.01.2 covers Spillover and overrun damage to terrain.

"If a regular attack is made against a unit in a town or forest hex (or any hex containing a road or railroad), a spillover attack is rolled against the hex’s defense of 4. As with other spillover attacks, the attack is at half strength, D results are ignored, and X counts as D. This means only attacks with a base strength of 8 or more can have any spillover effect on the terrain!"

(Emphasis is mine.) This doesn't compute for me; a 4 strength attack on a unit would be a 2 strength spillover to the terrain, enough for 1:2, so a 6 would be an X reduced to D, which is enough to damage a forest/town and/or cut roads/tracks.

It seems like a S4 attack is all you need to get a 1:2 roll, which can achieve a spillover D on a 6. Am I missing something?
Eugee is offline   Reply With Quote
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.