Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 11-02-2011, 04:59 PM   #1
ssveter

Default GURPS RCC (Ranged Combat Calculator)

A few weeks ago I started learning Visual Basic. As a personal project I built what I call the GURPS RCC. Before then I knew nothing about VB.
I posted it at this link

https://docs.google.com/open?id=0B6m...QyNTMzODRmOTIy

for anyone to download and give me some constructive criticism and advice on how I could improve it.
ssveter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 07:35 PM   #2
Philomath

Default Re: GURPS RCC (Ranged Combat Calculator)

A couple of suggestions:

* Display the total modifiers, not just the calculated effective skill (not necessary but nice).
Make the selection changes automatically calculate on every change.

* For mine (which is very similar) I made each section selectable via function key with each individual item within a section selectable via number key (so, using your layout, Move and Attack with a Laser Sight would be F1, 4 followed by F7, 1). This made the thing a whole lot more convenient to use at the table. Mine is layed out is differently so this might require some tweaking to fit yours.

* Finally, consider saving weapon stats so that 15 people each with their own unique firearm don't bog down using this (a couple of buttons and a list box in the Weapon Stats section would probably be easiest).

All in all, very nice and immensely useful to a new GM.
Unrelatedly, I am now recruiting new players.
Philomath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 07:46 PM   #3
ssveter

Thanks those are very useful suggestions.