Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Board and Card Games > Ogre and G.E.V.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2021, 12:02 PM   #1
Russ K
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Default Infantry blocking Ogre?

The other day a friend pointed out that (in the basic rules) an OGRE cannot enter a hex with infantry in it unless the OGRE has at least some AP weapons left. (6.06) This would seem to lead to some interesting tactical possibilities. Since AP weapons will almost always be attacked at greater than 1-1 odds, (e.g. a GEV will attack at 2-1) it should quicker to strip off the AP weapons than to strip off treads with 1-1 attacks. This would make it possible to then use infantry to block the OGRE’s advance until it can use any surviving main or secondary batteries to blast a hole in the blocking infantry. If all of the OGRE weapons are gone the infantry could simply surround the CP and prevent the OGRE from taking it, even with treads left. Or the infantry could surround the OGRE and “capture” it, even if they have to break into single squads to do so. Obviously, this all goes out the window if one is using the overrun combat rules, but the idea still intrigues me. Has anyone out there done this or seen it done, or am I missing something in the rules?
Russ K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2021, 03:16 PM   #2
selenite
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Default Re: Infantry blocking Ogre?

Okay, on one side we have an Ogre with full treads and batteries.

On the other side we have the forces remaining after the batteries blew up the tanks shooting at APs.

I think I'd rather take the Ogre side of that. Use M3 speed to outflank the infantry. Blow up everything in your way. Win by attrition and pick up the CP as a prize of victory.

Sure, it's worth doing the experiment. I'd play it. I may try it next time I fire up the videogame.
selenite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2021, 08:59 PM   #3
selenite
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Default Re: Infantry blocking Ogre?

Gave it a try in the videogame. Ogre lost both times (Mk III attack). Didn't do my usual handicap of holding back 2-3 armor, so not conclusive.
selenite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2021, 12:58 PM   #4
Misplaced Buckeye
 
Join Date: May 2015
Default Re: Infantry blocking Ogre?

That section says NOTHING about entry only reduction.

6.06 Reducing infantry. An Ogre does not literally “ram”
infantry, but any Ogre with AP weapons (or a Superheavy Tank)
may move into an infantry hex as though the infantry were not
there. If the Ogre/SHVY has any antipersonnel weapons left, the
infantry unit is automatically reduced by one squad. This does not
count as an “attack” for the AP weapons. An Ogre/SHVY in a hex
with infantry may expend a movement point, stay in the same hex,
and reduce the infantry again. When all its AP weapons are gone, an
Ogre/SHVY can no longer reduce infantry in this way.

Which means the Ogre just brushes by them doing no damage.

This section applies to movement:

5.03 Movement through other units. Any unit may move
through a hex occupied by friendly units, as long as it does not end
the movement phase in violation of stacking limits (5.02). Units
may move through a hex occupied by an enemy unit only if that
enemy has no attack strength (for instance, a CP, or the train).
Otherwise, no unit may move through or into an enemy-occupied
hex except to ram or overrun (see below).
5.04 Ram and overrun attacks. When a player moves one or
more units into a hex containing enemy units, a ram (Section 6)
or overrun (Section 8) occurs immediately. If you are using the
simpler ramming rules, you may not enter an enemy hex with a unit
unless your unit is capable of ramming. For instance, infantry can’t
ram, so if you are using the ramming rules, infantry may not enter
an enemy-occupied hex at all.

I really believe your friend is reading too much into the rules. Basically the Ogre can still enter to do an attack but it can do no damage to infantry without weapons. On the other hand it can squash vehicles and CPs.
Misplaced Buckeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2021, 02:40 PM   #5
Shostak
 
Shostak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: New England
Default Re: Infantry blocking Ogre?

Quote:
Originally Posted by selenite View Post
Gave it a try in the videogame. Ogre lost both times (Mk III attack). Didn't do my usual handicap of holding back 2-3 armor, so not conclusive.
So, can those of us who don't have the videogame assume that the above quote can be understood to mean that the game prevents an Ogre lacking AP weapons from moving onto an enemy infantry unit?
Shostak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2021, 08:54 PM   #6
selenite
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Default Re: Infantry blocking Ogre?

No, in the video game the Ogre can move onto and through infantry. But blowing away the AP does let the INF play a better role in the battle, if you have the Ogre down to M2.
selenite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2021, 05:34 PM   #7
Russ K
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Default Re: Infantry blocking Ogre?

Thanks, selenite. I think that pretty well answers my question, if the video game allows the Ogre to move into the occupied hex.
Russ K is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.