Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 08-06-2013, 08:17 PM   #1
JonnyBoy

Default Suggestions for an introductory GURPS adventure?

I'm brand new to GURPS (aside from creating a character and playing about a 15 minute session) and want to get a game together with my friends to introduce them to GURPS. These people don't have roleplaying experience, so I'll GM the game. For our first game, I want to do a one shot adventure which gives the players (and the GM for that matter) a nice introduction to the combat system, but that's not so combat-heavy that the players don't have a chance to get a feel for roleplaying. Do you have any ideas for genres or adventures that would be good for this? I'd like this adventure to be relatively simple to introduce GURPS, with the aim of playing something with more depth later.
JonnyBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2013, 08:41 PM   #2
Stormcrow

Default Re: Suggestions for an introductory GURPS adventure?

Caravan to Erin Arris is the classic starter adventure, and it's free.
Stormcrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 01:49 AM   #3
Rocket Man
Petitioner: Word of IN Filk

The one I always use as an introduction is the Horror adventure Flight 13, but alas, it's out of print and not yet up on e23. I'll admit that in my hands, it usually results in a short multi-session adventure rather than a one-night stand. But there's a lot of natural break points, and plenty of opportunities for fighting and roleplaying in a modern setting.

If you can find it reasonably priced elsewhere (or if it comes out on PDF), snag it. It's worth it.

http://www.sjgames.com/gurps/books/flight13/

Author: "What Doesn't Kill Me Makes Me Stronger"
Rocket Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2013, 03:32 AM   #4
DangerousThing