Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-02-2024, 08:07 AM   #11
Bill_in_IN
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Indiana
Default Re: Where does the rider land when they get pulled from a mount?

I agree with the OP. ITL doesn't say much about where they land.

I had to think way back to our Classic TFT days for this one. Even then, I'm sure that it only happened once or twice.

The rider would be pulled into the hex where the puller is standing. The character pulling the rider would have to roll to see if they can move to an the adjacent hex (3/DX or 4/DX?) or be in HTH with the rider. In the HTH rules, I don't think that it matters which character is on top of the pile. The very subtle implication on ITL page 131 is that the roll made by the puller(s) also has the resistance if the rider built into the roll. However, that is debatable. Otherwise, the GM could allow the rider to have an action after being pulled off. This could allow a saving roll to land on their feet (if the puller moves to an adjacent hex), an attack while in HTH with the puller or, perhaps, an impractical attack (-DX adjustments) while on the ground.

At least, that's how I remember it. There is plenty of uncertainty as to how it will result for either character. HTH-like situations are like that.

Last edited by Bill_in_IN; 04-03-2024 at 07:01 AM.
Bill_in_IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.