Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2008, 12:56 PM   #1
Dragyn
 
Dragyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default Powers/Imbuement: Gambit's Power

Would anyone care to give a crack at modelling Gambit's 'charging' power with Imbuements and/or Powers?

I'm about to start a Supers game and my primary NPC will have this ability. I'm interested in seeing the thoughts of some of you folks while I consider how to do it.
__________________
Kevin's Outdoor, my online store.

<><
Dragyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 01:07 PM   #2
Mark Skarr
Forum Pervert
(If you have to ask . . .)
 
Mark Skarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere high up.
Default Re: Powers/Imbuement: Gambit's Power

Crushing Attack X (Explosive, Accessibility: Requires something small to charge (-10%), Nuisance effect: explosion destroys object (-5%))

Add increased range and power modifiers to taste.
Mark Skarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 01:15 PM   #3
Son of Dave
 
Son of Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Default Re: Powers/Imbuement: Gambit's Power

Im not massively clear on gambits exact capabilities, so this instead mimic Mark Skarr's power.

Imbue 3 (One Imbuement, -80%) [8], Shockwave! Xlvl [x] ??
Son of Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 01:32 PM   #4
naloth
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Default Re: Powers/Imbuement: Gambit's Power

Quote:
Originally Posted by Son of Dave
Im not massively clear on gambits exact capabilities, so this instead mimic Mark Skarr's power.

Imbue 3 (One Imbuement, -80%) [8], Shockwave! Xlvl [x] ??
Gambit supposedly supercharges things with kinetic energy causing them to explode shortly thereafter.

His trademark weapon is playing cards. You couldn't get the base damage high enough for a credible Shockwave.

I've created a version of Gambit that's almost exactly like Mark's though I added Delay & Overhead so that he can toss it like a grenade.
naloth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 03:04 PM   #5
Pip Boy
 
Pip Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Wasteland
Default Re: Powers/Imbuement: Gambit's Power

Well, PU-2 states that one can imbue a Innate Attack, so I would design the basic "card throw" for Gambit (say, a 2d cutting attack) and apply the Shockwave and Shattershot.
__________________
Brazilian Vault Dweller, Wanderer and Chosen One. (Feel free to correct my english grammar!)
Pip Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 03:12 PM   #6
naloth
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Default Re: Powers/Imbuement: Gambit's Power

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pip Boy
Well, PU-2 states that one can imbue a Innate Attack, so I would design the basic "card throw" for Gambit (say, a 2d cutting attack) and apply the Shockwave and Shattershot.
Are you sure? PU1 makes it pretty clear that's off limits:

Quote:
Originally Posted by PU1
However, you canít imbue a ranged attack bought with points, whether natural (like a racial ability) or superhuman, even if it has gadget limitations.
naloth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 03:18 PM   #7
GnomesofZurich
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Canada
Default Re: Powers/Imbuement: Gambit's Power

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pip Boy
Well, PU-2 states that one can imbue a Innate Attack, so I would design the basic "card throw" for Gambit (say, a 2d cutting attack) and apply the Shockwave and Shattershot.
Power-Ups 2 is about Perks, not Imbuements, and the text from PU-1 specifically states that you cannot imbue an Innate attack.

p. 16: "Remember that Imbuement Skills are for fists and weapons, not for attack abilities. If you want an enhancement on your advantage, buy the enhancement!"

The way to simulate Gambit's abilities is either an Innate Attack with an accessibility (as Mark Skarr posted above), or use the recommendations of the Imbuement power (PU-1, pg. 17), and purchase an appropriate Innate Attack with Follow-up (any Melee or Weapon attack).

Edit: I see naloth already posted with the correct text about not being able to Imbue an Innate Attack.
GnomesofZurich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 03:48 PM   #8
Pip Boy
 
Pip Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Wasteland
Default Re: Powers/Imbuement: Gambit's Power

It was a typo; I meant PU-1.

"Imbuement Abilities

Detect, for imbuement or others with this power; Imbue; and
Protected Power. Any number of Afflictions, Bindings, and Innate Attacks are allowed, but these must have the modifier Follow-Up (Any Melee or Weapon Attack), +50%."
- Pg 17.

But I guess I misread, then.
__________________
Brazilian Vault Dweller, Wanderer and Chosen One. (Feel free to correct my english grammar!)
Pip Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 03:58 PM   #9
naloth
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Default Re: Powers/Imbuement: Gambit's Power

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pip Boy
It was a typo; I meant PU-1.

"Imbuement Abilities

Detect, for imbuement or others with this power; Imbue; and
Protected Power. Any number of Afflictions, Bindings, and Innate Attacks are allowed, but these must have the modifier Follow-Up (Any Melee or Weapon Attack), +50%."
- Pg 17.
That's a little different, and could be used here too. You could imbue a thrown card with something like Far-Shot or Guilded then have an Innate Attack w/Explosive as a Follow-Up.

As I understand it, though, the Follow-Up isn't the recipient of the Imbue skill. It's weapon attack that uses the Imbue and the Follow-Up happens after that. You're still limited by not having Imbue directly affect an Innate Attack.
naloth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2008, 04:46 PM   #10
Pip Boy
 
Pip Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Wasteland
Default Uq

Quote:
Originally Posted by PU1
However, you canít imbue a ranged attack bought with points, whether natural (like a racial ability) or superhuman, even if it has gadget limitations.
Ok, so this means that one can't imbue his own Signature Gear?! Oo

Quote:
Originally Posted by naloth
That's a little different, and could be used here too. You could imbue a thrown card with something like Far-Shot or Guilded then have an Innate Attack w/Explosive as a Follow-Up.

As I understand it, though, the Follow-Up isn't the recipient of the Imbue skill. It's weapon attack that uses the Imbue and the Follow-Up happens after that. You're still limited by not having Imbue directly affect an Innate Attack.
Ok, I thought it was the other way around. But this works as well for Gambit; after all, he can Imbue every item and not just a specific gadget.
Just buy the Imbuements you like - Arching Shot, Conic Blast (for a "scattered deck"), Far Shot, Incendiary Weapon, Multi-shot (again, for more than one "card"), Penetrating Strike, Shattershot, Shockwave, and/or Traumatic Blow - AND work a big explosion Innate Attack as a Follow-up to the deck card.
__________________
Brazilian Vault Dweller, Wanderer and Chosen One. (Feel free to correct my english grammar!)

Last edited by Pip Boy; 08-06-2008 at 04:59 PM.
Pip Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
supers

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.