Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Board and Card Games > Car Wars

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2022, 07:23 AM   #1
Yenaldlooshi
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Default Rules Clarifications: Off-Road Suspension and Dynamic Suspension

Off-Road Suspension (Playmat):
The off-road suspension card uses a symbol that is not "officially" listed in the core rules. It is a 1 in a white circle. Does this refer to if the car is overlapping *anything*, meaning EITHER terrain or a hazard? or only terrain?

Dynamic Suspension (Core):
The Dynamic Suspension card states you can take ACE equal to the highest TERRAIN level the car is overlapping. Does this mean it does not count hazards for allowing this extra ace?

Thanks!
Yenaldlooshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2022, 05:26 PM   #2
Sam Mitschke
Chief Creative Officer
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Rules Clarifications: Off-Road Suspension and Dynamic Suspension

Off-Road Suspension:
The terrain icons are explained in the "Common Icons" box on p4 of the core rules. Normal, flat road is terrain (0). The (1) on this card indicates terrain level (1). The number within the circle indicates how many blue dice must be added to your driving roll (this is covered in better detail on p12).

Terrain is not cumulative, so if your car is overlapping multiple terrain levels at once, only add blue dice equal to the highest value of those terrain levels. For instance, if you were overlapping terrain levels (1), (2), and (3), you would only add 3 blue dice to your driving roll, since the (3) is the highest terrain level among all of them.

Dynamic Suspension:
Hazard cards, which have a striped border, do not show terrain icons, so they do not modify the terrain level and have no effect on this card.
Sam Mitschke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2022, 11:00 AM   #3
Yenaldlooshi
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Default Re: Rules Clarifications: Off-Road Suspension and Dynamic Suspension

I see it now. So thus Off-Road Suspension does not give anything for a hazard, right?
Yenaldlooshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2022, 12:42 PM   #4
Sam Mitschke
Chief Creative Officer
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Rules Clarifications: Off-Road Suspension and Dynamic Suspension

Off-Road Suspension is not affected by any hazards that have been published as of this moment.

Off-Road Suspension only cares if your car is overlapping a terrain level of (1) or greater. Hazard cards do not currently affect terrain levels, but it's entirely possible that a future hazard card might.
Sam Mitschke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.