Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 02-08-2011, 07:57 PM   #1
harliquin76

Default New to GURPS my head hurts

So I am trying to run a Fallout type game. I have never used GURPS before and have been reading the character basic book all day. My head hurts. I have looked at the conversion for Fallout but it seems to set the game up I need to go through all the basic books and some addtional books and select which skills/traits/advantages my players can use. Does this sound about right? also any tips on how to build a better game?
harliquin76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 08:07 PM   #2
nanoboy

Default Re: New to GURPS my head hurts

First, take a deep breath. Relax. The first rule for people new to GURPS is that you don't have to use everything. Start with the simple stuff. Remember that GURPS is a very big tool box, and right now, you just need to learn how to use a hammer and a wrench. Socket sets and rotary tools can wait.

I'm not familiar with the Fallout setting or the conversion stuff, but I would imagine any fan-based adaptation of Fallout (or readaptation? I understand that the game was originally built on the GURPS engine...) would include a bunch of books. You won't need them to have a good time, and trying to include them at this point will only leave you more frustrated. Also note that any conversion or whatever may be based on GURPS 3rd Edition, and if you're reading GURPS Characters, then you're looking at 4th Edition. Just check and make sure, since there are some important changes between editions.