Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 02-21-2012, 02:50 PM   #1
Zale

Default Questions for playing as an AI

So.. I'm new to gurps, and am trying to make a artificial intelligence as a character.

The main premise of the character is an AI that was made to sift through vast amounts of data, and then use this to calculate/extrapolate on large scale events- Like the stock market, or weather prediction. Basically, the usage of Oracle (Digital) from Powers.

So a few questions on this:

What counts as a "Purely Mental Action" skill-wise for an AI connected to the net? Could my character use a Compartmentalized Mind to research (As the skill) things on the internet while carrying on a discussion?

Because it's my character's main shtick, Are there any useful enhancements for Oracle?

Is there a version of Altered Time Sense that only allows extra mental actions?
Zale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 02:55 PM   #2
Flyndaran
Untagged

Default Re: Questions for playing as an AI

Anything that a brain in a jar could do would count as mental only. ;)

If you have wireless internet access, then your second mind could do anything mental without bothering the one focusing on the physical reality.
Flyndaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2012, 03:46 PM   #3
Anaraxes

Quote:
Is there a version of Altered Time Sense that only allows extra mental actions?
In a sense, Compartmentalized Mind _is_ the limited version of ATR that allows only extra mental actions.

You might want several compartments. Talk to your GM, but it's commonly accepted that multiple compartments can work on the same mental task and reduce the overall time.