Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-12-2018, 09:44 AM   #1
Axly Suregrip
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Default Standing Against a Charge while already engaged

If a foe moves adjacent to a poleman, that will result in the poleman "Standing against a charge". But, what if that poleman was already engaged in a fight from the previous turn. The poleman is not just standing waiting to receive the charge but actively fighting another foe.

Is it implied that "Standing against a charge" only applies to polemen that are not engaged already (at least not newly engaged)?

In the past I have played this both ways. Curious to see what others think on this topic.

-Alan
Axly Suregrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 11:06 AM   #2
platimus
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: behind you
Default Re: Standing Against a Charge while already engaged

Quote:
Originally Posted by Axly Suregrip View Post
If a foe moves adjacent to a poleman, that will result in the poleman "Standing against a charge". But, what if that poleman was already engaged in a fight from the previous turn. The poleman is not just standing waiting to receive the charge but actively fighting another foe.

Is it implied that "Standing against a charge" only applies to polemen that are not engaged already (at least not newly engaged)?

In the past I have played this both ways. Curious to see what others think on this topic.

-Alan
As long as he didn't have to change facing, I'd let the previously engaged poleman defend against the charge if he hadn't already acted that turn.
platimus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 11:25 AM   #3
Skarg
 
Join Date: May 2015
Default Re: Standing Against a Charge while already engaged

We played that it didn't matter that the defender was already engaged by someone else, as we didn't see a rule that says it does.
Skarg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 09:10 AM   #4
Skarg
 
Join Date: May 2015
Default Re: Standing Against a Charge while already engaged

Thinking about it some more, I get the logic and could see adding it as a house rule (though I tend to think I wouldn't myself).

However it would add a new strong tactic to try to use a pole-charge against any enemy pole user who is already engaged, since you'd get the charge advantage but they would not (and they'd have another figure to fight at the same time).
Skarg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 10:34 AM   #5
ecz
 
ecz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Default Re: Standing Against a Charge while already engaged

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skarg View Post
We played that it didn't matter that the defender was already engaged by someone else, as we didn't see a rule that says it does.
agreed, combat is simple and basic.

And see the thing from the pikeman perspective. He would use the weapon against a charging cavalier rather than against an already engaged enemy
__________________
VASLeague Tournament Director
www.vasleague.org
ecz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 11:29 AM   #6
larsdangly
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default Re: Standing Against a Charge while already engaged

The rules give the pole arm user the choice of what to do with his or her attack: either deliver a normal attack against someone already in your front hex or set vs. a charge through another hex side. So long as you don't violate any of the restrictions on set vs. charge (i.e., don't change facing or shift) then you are free to pick.
larsdangly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2018, 12:33 PM   #7
Axly Suregrip
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Default Re: Standing Against a Charge while already engaged

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skarg View Post
Thinking about it some more, I get the logic and could see adding it as a house rule (though I tend to think I wouldn't myself).

However it would add a new strong tactic to try to use a pole-charge against any enemy pole user who is already engaged, since you'd get the charge advantage but they would not (and they'd have another figure to fight at the same time).

Hi,
I agree with no longer needing this house rule. Before polearms were too prevalent in our games. So, you are correct, this gave us the tactic of sending in a tank to engage the pole man and on the following turn send in the more offensive characters.

Glad to no longer need this house rule.

-thanks
-Alan
Axly Suregrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2018, 12:38 PM   #8
Axly Suregrip
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Default Re: Standing Against a Charge while already engaged

Quote:
Originally Posted by larsdangly View Post
The rules give the pole arm user the choice of what to do with his or her attack: either deliver a normal attack against someone already in your front hex or set vs. a charge through another hex side. So long as you don't violate any of the restrictions on set vs. charge (i.e., don't change facing or shift) then you are free to pick.
Hi larsdangly,
Actually the poleman standing against a charge is allowed to change facing, just not allowed to shift. See pg 12 of Legacy Melee rule on pole weapons, "A figure who stands still (or simply changes facing)...".
-kind regards
-Alan
Axly Suregrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.