Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2006, 08:00 PM   #11
roguebfl
Dog of Lysdexics
 
roguebfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Melbourne FL, Formerly Wellington NZ
Default Re: Dual-Weapon Attack - purchase the technique for mismatched weapons?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomservo
So you're saying Rapid Strike is made with a single-weapon in mind, while dual-weapon attack involves a weapon in each hand. That would make sense to me as the difference between -6 for Rapid Strike and -4 for dual-weapon attack.
That's exactly what I'm saying 8)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomservo
Would you then rule you can Rapid Strike with two ready weapons in each hand at -4 (like dual-weapon attack states on page B417) instead of -6?
Probobibly not due to the interaction with ather things that effect Rapid strike 8)

But if you want to Role play calling it that, while actual use the Dual-Attack machanics I would have No problem 8) [once I caught on to what you where doing]
__________________
Rogue the Bronze Firelizard
Gerald Grenier, Jr. Hail Eris!
Rogue's Weyr
roguebfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2006, 09:41 AM   #12
blacksmith
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Default Re: Dual-Weapon Attack - purchase the technique for mismatched weapons?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomservo
Attacking with two weapons at once is legal, but forces the attacker to incur a -4 penalty with each weapon (unlike Rapid Strike, which forces a -6 to each attack; not sure how that works). It does not specify that these weapons need be matched; You could be using a Rapier and Main Gauche, a broadsword and a large knife, or a bastard sword and axe.

I can "buy off" that -4 penalty for attacking with two weapons at once by purchasing the Dual-Weapon Attack technique. But does that apply only to one of the weapons I'm using? Or do I need to purchase this separately for each of the weapons: (DWA - Broadsword and DWA - Knife for example).

I would tend to rule the technique as a familiarity technique; thus you purchase DWA (Broadsword/Knife) and base the skill level off of the best (worst?) of the two skills. If you wanted DWA (Broadsword/Axe), that's a separate technique purchase. This seems to keep it in line with purchasing DWA (Broadsword) for two swords or DWA (Sai) for two Sai; you wouldn't purchase the technique for the same skill twice, right?
I would make is set specific, so two swords is a set as is a rapier main-gauche. I would also make it hand specific for most games. The real issue is this is someone trained in rapier/main-gaunche able to fight with knives in both hands well? What about swords?
blacksmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2006, 09:45 AM   #13
blacksmith
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Default Re: Dual-Weapon Attack - purchase the technique for mismatched weapons?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomservo
So you're saying Rapid Strike is made with a single-weapon in mind, while dual-weapon attack involves a weapon in each hand. That would make sense to me as the difference between -6 for Rapid Strike and -4 for dual-weapon attack.

Would you then rule you can Rapid Strike with two ready weapons in each hand at -4 (like dual-weapon attack states on page B417) instead of -6?
You can only rapid strike once per turn. So with someone with dual weapons and weapon master and ambidexterity then yes, he could get something like

-3/-3/0 as his attacks

At least I think so, have not checked the books on this
blacksmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2006, 10:41 AM   #14
Stephane_Theriault
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default Re: Dual-Weapon Attack - purchase the technique for mismatched weapons?

Quote:
Originally Posted by blacksmith
You can only rapid strike once per turn. So with someone with dual weapons and weapon master and ambidexterity then yes, he could get something like

-3/-3/0 as his attacks

At least I think so, have not checked the books on this
Per FAQ 3.4.2.7, you can't combine a DWA and a Rapid Strike. They are either/or.
Stephane_Theriault is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dual attack, dual-weapon attack

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.