Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Board and Card Games > Car Wars > Car Wars Old Editions

Old 01-25-2020, 03:49 PM   #1
PeteC

Default Introducing the game

Hey all, currently reliving my misspent youth by introducing my Monday night board game group to The Fantasy Trip and Car Wars.

I have played about five games of car wars with total newbies (a couple of people played in more than one of those games) and I just want to share a few observations I had that might benefit people interested in running introductory games.

For reference, I was playing with the 1996 compendium. Four of those games were arena brawls using these glorified golf-carts:

Lil'Banger: Subcompact, Light chassis, Light suspension, Small power plant, 4
Standard tires, Driver w/BA and Bowie Knife and Submachine Gun
and 3 Explosive Grenades, Vehicular Shotgun Front, Junk Dropper
Back, Plastic Armor: F4, L2, R2, B3, T2, U2, Acceleration 5, Top
Speed 100, HC 2, 2070 lbs., $2900

I know this vehicle seems weird and pathetic but it worked out pretty well. One hit to the side and then you're taking internal hits. Junk droppers taught about how automatic fire worked and avoiding the junk resulted in a few spectacular deaths. It kept games short and spicy. Also I was hoping they would try to knife each other, lol.

The last game was a homebrew scenario using an off-road map where an off-road rescue van was subcontracted by Gold Cross to recover a duellist's corpse from a wreck that was being looted by a cycle-gang. It was a real hit.

So anyhoo, here are a few observations: