Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2012, 11:36 AM   #1
Ozzmal
 
Ozzmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Inez, Kentucky
Default Magnificent Hat and Clerical Errors

On my first turn I was fighting a crabs. It was all good, I had my Magnificent Hat on, so I was combat level 3. Bam, I owned it. But, not so fast, my girlfriend decides that Curse Clerical Errors would be an awesome play on me, nevermind the fact that I have a hat on that reflects curses.

Well, to my surprise, even if the curse hit someone else, since I was in combat, the monster apparently still comes over to kick me in the midsection. That was my understanding of it anyway (based on what the cards said). Is that how it really works?

P.S Pretty dirty at level 1, huh? lol.
Ozzmal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 01:20 PM   #2
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Magnificent Hat and Clerical Errors

That curse would add the most recently discarded monster to the current combat. Was there even a discarded monster, considering it was your first turn?
Brf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 01:22 PM   #3
Ozzmal
 
Ozzmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Inez, Kentucky
Default Re: Magnificent Hat and Clerical Errors

Yes there was, it was the floating nose. I went last heh.
Ozzmal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 03:44 PM   #4
Ozzmal
 
Ozzmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Inez, Kentucky
Default Re: Magnificent Hat and Clerical Errors

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brf View Post
That curse would add the most recently discarded monster to the current combat. Was there even a discarded monster, considering it was your first turn?
So just to clarify, if you player Curse Clerical Error on Player A when Player B is in combat, Player B still has to fight the monster, correct?
Ozzmal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 04:30 PM   #5
MunchkinMan
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Magnificent Hat and Clerical Errors

If someone is in combat, he technically has to be the victim of the curse, for lack of a better way to explain it. I think this requires some thought, and some searching...
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 02-15-2012 at 04:34 PM.
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2012, 04:43 PM   #6
morleydotes
Moderator Emeritus
 
morleydotes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Salem, OR.
Default Re: Magnificent Hat and Clerical Errors

ie: sit back, get a cup of coffee and let Erik search about a bit. This is one I would love to know also...

Pat
__________________
Salem Midnight Crew / MIB 1987 Or the Wrong MIB. Salem Cell leader, for the clueless in Oregon.
Ahhhh... I see the Screw-Up Fairy has visited us again.
Closed Captioned for the Humor Impaired
morleydotes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 02:31 PM   #7
Ozzmal
 
Ozzmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Inez, Kentucky
Default Re: Magnificent Hat and Clerical Errors

Also, the Tinfoil Hat makes people immune to curses cast by other players. If Clerical Errors was played on Player A when Player B is in combat (assuming Player B had the Tinfoil Hat) what would happen?
Ozzmal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 05:34 PM   #8
Ozzmal
 
Ozzmal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Inez, Kentucky
Default Re: Magnificent Hat and Clerical Errors

Did we ever come to a conclusion on this? Its popped up in a few of our games lol.
Ozzmal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2012, 06:28 PM   #9
coalstabmm
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: San Antonio, TX
Default Re: Magnificent Hat and Clerical Errors

We play this curse as not being cast on a specific person, so the hat doesnt work. The hat only blocks curses cast on you not the area around you, which is what Clerical Error essentially does.
coalstabmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2012, 07:47 AM   #10
MunchkinMan
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Magnificent Hat and Clerical Errors

Quote:
Originally Posted by coalstabmm View Post
We play this curse as not being cast on a specific person, so the hat doesnt work. The hat only blocks curses cast on you not the area around you, which is what Clerical Error essentially does.
Unfortunately, the rules don't support that. A Curse must have a victim, and in the case of this specific Curse, the victim must be the player in combat, if combat is currently occurring. If the player in combat has the Tinfoil Hat, then the Curse can't be played at that time...
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.