Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-19-2012, 11:17 AM   #21
vicky_molokh
GURPS FAQ Keeper
 
vicky_molokh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kyv, Ukraine
Default Re: How a character who has Extra Attack and Dual Weapon Attack works?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DouglasCole View Post
Sort of; it gives extra maneuvers, which are mostly treated like turns, but not really. I only bring up this point because it has recently been the source of some annoyance to me.
What do you mean not really? There's this silly issue with Feints, but that's it.
Oh, and the deprecated concept of a 'Full Turn' which never really took flight, but left a tombstone in the Basic Set.
__________________
Vicky 'Molokh', GURPS FAQ and uFAQ Keeper
vicky_molokh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 12:06 PM   #22
Fred Brackin
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Default Re: How a character who has Extra Attack and Dual Weapon Attack works?

Quote:
Originally Posted by DouglasCole View Post
Sort of; it gives extra maneuvers, which are mostly treated like turns, but not really. I only bring up this point because it has recently been the source of some annoyance to me.
I would like to know what the exception is. Keeping track of technicalities like this is one of the things i do around here.:)
__________________
Fred Brackin
Fred Brackin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2012, 12:21 PM   #23
DouglasCole
Doctor of GURPS Ballistics
 
DouglasCole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Lakeville, MN
Default Re: How a character who has Extra Attack and Dual Weapon Attack works?

Quote:
Originally Posted by vicky_molokh View Post
What do you mean not really? There's this silly issue with Feints, but that's it.
Oh, and the deprecated concept of a 'Full Turn' which never really took flight, but left a tombstone in the Basic Set.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred Brackin View Post
I would like to know what the exception is. Keeping track of technicalities like this is one of the things i do around here.:)
Despite Molokh's spin on things, Judo Throw, inflicting damage from an arm lock, and throws from locks VERY SPECIFICALLY state that the damage part of the move, or the throw, must happen on your next TURN. Not next attack or next maneuver, but next TURN.

I happen to agree that "next maneuver" would be fine - perhaps even better than the existing rule in many ways - and "next available attack" wouldn't be too bad, especially in a cinematic game, but:

ATR calls out an extra maneuver on your turn, not another turn.

The moves I mention above (I'd need to check on things like Choke Hold) all call out that things happen on your next turn, not maneuver, and with both personal trials with a stopwatch and conversations with Kromm and Peter have confirmed that's the way they meant it (though I didn't ask about the time-warping options with ATR where you get to fire guns faster than their cyclic rate with some 'switches' turned on).
__________________
My blog:Gaming Ballistic, LLC
My Store: Gaming Ballistic on Shopify
My Patreon: Gaming Ballistic on Patreon
DouglasCole is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
attack, dual-weapon attack, extra attack

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.