Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2013, 07:14 PM   #1
Munchkinator
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: I live in a dark scary hole, whispering, "Precious..."
Default Antimatter - Star Munchkin - Losing Levels You Don't Have

So we had a situation come up recently and I'd like your help.

I'm Level 2. I beat down the door and draw "Trap! Antimatter". I dutifully turn my Shmaser upside down. Then I say that I am discarding the Antimatterized Shmaser and taking the two level hit.

Here's the problem: I only had one level to lose. I said that I could still discard the Shmaser and lose just one level (instead of two). My family said that I had to have two levels to lose in order to discard the card.

So who's right? Could I have discarded the Antimatterized Shmaser? And what if I was just Level 1? What then?

Thanks.
Munchkinator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2013, 08:13 PM   #2
MunchkinMan
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Antimatter - Star Munchkin - Losing Levels You Don't Have

You have to have the levels to "spend," so you would have to be Level 3 (Level 4 for a Cyborg) in order to dump the Item affected by Trap! Antimatter. Just because you can't below Level 1 and can ignore level loss, that does not mean you can ignore levels you don't have when you have to pay a level as a cost.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2021, 04:39 PM   #3
MunchkinGod
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Default Re: Antimatter - Star Munchkin - Losing Levels You Don't Have

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
You have to have the levels to "spend," so you would have to be Level 3 (Level 4 for a Cyborg) in order to dump the Item affected by Trap! Antimatter. Just because you can't below Level 1 and can ignore level loss, that does not mean you can ignore levels you don't have when you have to pay a level as a cost.
Hey Mister Munchkinboy! Where did you pick up thooose rules??? Preschool?!

Let me introduce you to the year 2021:
For sure you can discard anti matter as a level 2. You lose 2 levels and instantly gain 1 because u cant fall below level 1.

Or what happens in YOUR world if someone is lvl 1 and loses 2 levels to a monster. The monster nibbles away on you till you are level 3 - and then finally - after waiting 20 minutes - the monster bites you and you lose 2 levels.

Sure bro - sure.

We - in the year 2021 - we know how to apply rules.

PS
I see you are online.
I'm sure you sweaty about this post you made 8 years ago. Sweaty because of the guilt - destroying lives with this post.
MunchkinGod is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
antimatter, levels, star munchkin

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.