Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > Dungeon Fantasy Roleplaying Game

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2018, 09:45 PM   #1
zuljita
 
zuljita's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Default Great haste, Uninterrupted Flurry and stacking

Something interesting that came up tonight: Do Great Haste (the spell) and Uninterrupted Flurry (the martial artist ability) stack?

Both abilities use the phrase: "you get to pick two maneuvers in succession each turn". Not an additional maneuver, but two. Is this intended to stack at all? If yes, is it intended to stack multiplicatively or additively?

I know how I'd rule this in GURPS (that they stack additively for a total of 3 maneuvers) but is the wording limiting it to two intentional or not?
__________________
Running 3 GURPS games: DFRPG, Supers and a weird Evil Hogwart's (ish) game.
Check out my blog: Dungeons on Automatic
zuljita is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2018, 09:47 PM   #2
Anthony
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Berkeley, CA
Default Re: Great haste, Uninterrupted Flurry and stacking

As worded, it does not stack. If it was worded as "additional maneuver" it would stack (for 3), if it was "twice as many" it would be multiplicative (this may not be the intent of the rule, but it's certainly the wording).
__________________
My GURPS site and Blog.
Anthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2018, 10:09 PM   #3
ArchonShiva
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Montréal, Québec
Default Re: Great haste, Uninterrupted Flurry and stacking

I agree with Anthony, there’s no way that wording makes them stack. At best you pick two, and then your perform two, for a total of... two?

It’s probably errata, as we all know it *should* stack — it’s just ATR2.
__________________
Per-based Stealth isn’t remotely as awkward as DX-based Observation.
ArchonShiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2018, 06:45 AM   #4
Kromm
GURPS Line Editor
 
Kromm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montréal, Québec
Default Re: Great haste, Uninterrupted Flurry and stacking

For most characters, "additional" would be tons less clear than "two," whence the wording. But if you use both, you may choose three maneuvers.
__________________
Sean "Dr. Kromm" Punch <kromm@sjgames.com>
GURPS Line Editor, Steve Jackson Games
My LiveJournal [Just GURPS News][Just The Company]
Kromm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2018, 03:36 PM   #5
Anthony
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Berkeley, CA
Default Re: Great haste, Uninterrupted Flurry and stacking

Hm. I realize the rules for ATR interact oddly with the rules for stun:

1) Stun requires you to Do Nothing on your turn. It does not, however, specify that all of your maneuvers must be Do Nothing.
2) Conversely, recovery from stun occurs at the end of your turn, not the end of your maneuver.

(for boss fight design, these two things could both be seen as features. Stun locking is usually considered a problem, but blanket immunity is also a problem).
__________________
My GURPS site and Blog.
Anthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2018, 05:46 PM   #6
evileeyore
Banned
 
evileeyore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: 100 hurricane swamp
Default Re: Great haste, Uninterrupted Flurry and stacking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anthony View Post
Hm. I realize the rules for ATR interact oddly with the rules for stun:

1) Stun requires you to Do Nothing on your turn. It does not, however, specify that all of your maneuvers must be Do Nothing.
2) Conversely, recovery from stun occurs at the end of your turn, not the end of your maneuver.

(for boss fight design, these two things could both be seen as features. Stun locking is usually considered a problem, but blanket immunity is also a problem).
For ATR I rule that each extra Maneuver is another 'Turn' for purposes like this. It makes ATR granting spells and abilities a little bit more useful (interacts with your #2) and it works well with this sentence (which I suspect you're skipping over for your interpretation of #1 there):

Exploits, pg 60, Stun Sidebar:
"Failure means you remain in this state – your next maneuver must also be Do Nothing, but you’ll get another HT roll . . . and so on, until you recover."

Thus every maneuver you take while Stunned must be Do Nothing, so...
evileeyore is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.