Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-13-2012, 08:38 AM   #61
cmdicely
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default Re: Do allies earn CP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Figleaf23 View Post
I don't think so. I believe it should be read in the context of justifying the preceding sentences about points, rather than as a stand-alone prohibition against GM choice (which would be uncharacteristic of GURPS, and if intended would likely be made explicit).
It is explicit, but its not a prohibition against GM choice, since in GURPS the GM can choose to change the rules. But, rules-as-written, an Ally is "specifically a skilled NPC associate for one PC." (emphasis added)

Not, "a skilled NPC associate for one PC or other NPC." There is no ambiguity at all in what the rule stated there is.
cmdicely is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2012, 11:52 AM   #62
Figleaf23
Banned
 
Figleaf23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Default Re: Do allies earn CP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdicely View Post
It is explicit, but its not a prohibition against GM choice, since in GURPS the GM can choose to change the rules. But, rules-as-written, an Ally is "specifically a skilled NPC associate for one PC." (emphasis added)

Not, "a skilled NPC associate for one PC or other NPC." There is no ambiguity at all in what the rule stated there is.
I understand your position, but I stand by my own for reasons previously stated.
Figleaf23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2012, 08:11 PM   #63
sir_pudding
Wielder of Smart Pants
 
sir_pudding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ventura CA
Default Re: Do allies earn CP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdicely View Post
It is explicit, but its not a prohibition against GM choice, since in GURPS the GM can choose to change the rules. But, rules-as-written, an Ally is "specifically a skilled NPC associate for one PC." (emphasis added)

Not, "a skilled NPC associate for one PC or other NPC." There is no ambiguity at all in what the rule stated there is.
Yet there are the unexplained exceptions in print, so something here isn't quite right one way or the other.
sir_pudding is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
allies, character points

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.