Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 02-08-2023, 11:32 AM   #1
Akumakis

Default Newb question re endless parrying

Hi folks, I’m new to GURPS (but very experienced in other games). I’m wondering if I misinterpreted a rule. It seems as though, as characters get more skilled, the chance to parry just keeps going up until it eventually exceeds 75%. Won’t this result in longer and longer combats as everything gets parried? It just sounds…monotonous.
Akumakis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2023, 11:42 AM   #2
mr beer

Default Re: Newb question re endless parrying

Parry = (50% x Skill) plus 3.

Skill = 10, Parry = 8
Skill = 18, Parry = 12
Skill = 24, Parry = 15

So if every combatant has higher and higher Skill, then Parry becomes less effective not more.

Now if only the characters obtain higher skill and enemies stay the same, then sure the characters get more powerful. Which should be the case. Note that repeated Parries suffer a penalty and some attacks cannot be Parried and some attack might break the Parrying weapon. So a high Parry is not a magical defense that renders a character immune to damage.
mr beer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2023, 11:48 AM   #3
Sabaron

Yes, that'll happen if you stick to just attacking at base skill and parrying back and forth forever.

Here are a few ways to break that stalemate:

1. Deceptive Attack. You can take -2 to your attack rolls to inflict a -1 to your enemy's defenses. You can do this as much as you want until your effective skill reaches 10.

2. Feint. Make a Quick Contest of your skill vs. their best combat skill. If you succeed, they suffer your margin of victory as a penalty on their defenses next turn.

3. Use a weapon heavy enough that they can't parry it. Shields are good for this.