Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2011, 09:59 PM   #1
chandley
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default [Powers] Can you use Warp to take a "step"?

Warp with no preparation time is -10 to skill. Assuming you can make the roll, can you use your ability to teleport to replace your step? Im thinking along the lines of what Bishop(?) did in X-Men Origins: Wolverine. Step using Warp to get behind Sabertooth, and then an attack. The blows where to well placed to be Move and Attacks.

Other places in fiction have teleporters porting and attacking. The Blink enhancement doesnt really cover it, thats for dodging, though I could see using Warp as your step would "use up" the ability to use Warp to dodge (your one reflexive use of Warp, basically).

Thoughts?
chandley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 10:15 PM   #2
AlexGnome
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: [Powers] Can you use Warp to take a "step"?

I've always considered an instant action to be a free action, so technically not even using your step.
AlexGnome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 12:03 AM   #3
naloth
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Default Re: [Powers] Can you use Warp to take a "step"?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlexGnome View Post
I've always considered an instant action to be a free action, so technically not even using your step.
What he said... For a more official view you can read http://forums.sjgames.com/showpost.p...6&postcount=35
naloth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 12:16 AM   #4
fictionfan
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Arizona
Default Re: [Powers] Can you use Warp to take a "step"?

Not sure if this goes with the topic, but could you make 7 league boots?
__________________
knowledge is power
fictionfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 12:24 AM   #5
sir_pudding
Wielder of Smart Pants
 
sir_pudding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ventura CA
Default Re: [Powers] Can you use Warp to take a "step"?

Quote:
Originally Posted by fictionfan View Post
Not sure if this goes with the topic,
If you had seven league boots that worked as advertized you could certainly take a seven league step as part of maneuver; Body Sense might be approriate on arrival though. Otherwise, I'm pretty sure it is off-topic, yes. :)
Quote:
but could you make 7 league boots?
I'm not sure I understand the question. Are you asking if it's possible to make seven league boots as a Gadget limited ability? Or a magic item with the "standard" enchantment system? Or a Path-Magic Fetish? Realm magic item? Something else entirely?
sir_pudding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 12:43 AM   #6
fictionfan
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Arizona
Default Re: [Powers] Can you use Warp to take a "step"?

sorry. It's just that I though that 7 league boots would be using warp to take a step so it goes with the title.
__________________
knowledge is power
fictionfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 09:00 AM   #7
chandley
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default Re: [Powers] Can you use Warp to take a "step"?

Quote:
Originally Posted by naloth View Post
What he said... For a more official view you can read http://forums.sjgames.com/showpost.p...6&postcount=35
Well sweet, thanks. My search-fu failed me :)
chandley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 09:19 AM   #8
Danukian
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: MI
Default Re: [Powers] Can you use Warp to take a "step"?

Now that you've found an official answer, I'd like to nitpick that Bishop wasn't in X-men Origins: Wolverine, that was Wraith ;p
__________________
"My Dirty Girls on Bikes Calendar ends in December: it doesn't mean the world is going to end, it means it's time to order a new calendar!" ~Burt Chance
Danukian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 09:25 AM   #9
chandley
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Default Re: [Powers] Can you use Warp to take a "step"?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danukian View Post
Now that you've found an official answer, I'd like to nitpick that Bishop wasn't in X-men Origins: Wolverine, that was Wraith ;p
I knew I had it wrong :). Hence the ? after his name. Wraith eh? Never heard of him, but thanks for the clarification!
chandley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
magic items, warp

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.