Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2021, 06:51 PM   #1
Hrothgar Rannúlfr
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Default Question about Charge Attacks

Does the attack portion of a charge happen during the movement phase of the round? If so, does the charger get to attack during the action phase of the round, too?
Hrothgar Rannúlfr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2021, 09:26 PM   #2
Shostak
 
Shostak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: New England
Default Re: Question about Charge Attacks

No, the charge attack occurs only during the action phase of the turn. The only special thing about a charge attack is that it can give a pole weapon user a bonus to hit and/or damage, depending on the particulars of who is charging whom.
__________________
* * * *
Anthony Shostak
myriangia.wordpress.com
Shostak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2021, 09:47 PM   #3
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: Question about Charge Attacks

My reading of the rules goes as follows. YMMV.

1: If the two figures remained adjacent throughout movement then this is not a charge attack, skip the rest.

2: Did attacker and/or defender move from non-adjacent to adjacent this turn? This is a charge attack, Pole weapons strike before other attacks.

3: Did the attacker remain still or just turn this move? Standing pole weapon gets +2 DX on this attack.

4: Did the range close by three hexes or more during movement and if so was the last up to three hexes of the attacker's movement (if he moved at all) in a straight line towards the target? Attacker's pole weapon does an additional die of damage over the base damage.
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2021, 09:59 AM   #4
Peter von Kleinsmid
The Fantasy Trip Line Editor
 
Join Date: May 2021
Default Re: Question about Charge Attacks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hrothgar Rannúlfr View Post
Does the attack portion of a charge happen during the movement phase of the round? If so, does the charger get to attack during the action phase of the round, too?
No, they use the figure's action, and occur during the Actions stage. Pole weapons used in or against charge attacks happen before other actions.
Peter von Kleinsmid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2021, 11:26 AM   #5
Hrothgar Rannúlfr
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Default Re: Question about Charge Attacks

Thank you, every one, for the feedback.

Really appreciate it.
Hrothgar Rannúlfr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
charge

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.