Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 01-08-2014, 04:23 AM   #1
Jürgen Hubert

Default So... Mass Combat.

I will be soon starting a campaign that starts out as wilderness exploration but will eventually evolve with the PCs starting their own colony and turning it into a nation (for those who are interested in the background details, read the "Cold Frontier" posts listed here). And this will likely involve the GURPS Mass Combat rules, with which I have no experience - so I would like to hear about yours with the system. What worked, what didn't, and what would you do differently?

The Tech Level of the campaign is TL 3+2 - that is, a standard D&Desque fantasy setting without gunpowder, but with two added tech levels of "magitech" in the form of fairly common (but still expensive) magic items. Which will likely be in scarce supply on the frontier, but they likely will build a (golem-powered) railroad sooner or later (which raises the question of how fast a railroad can transport military units).
Old 01-08-2014, 08:24 AM   #2
Nereidalbel

Default Re: So... Mass Combat.

The speed of a railroad is entirely dependent on your engine output. Early steam locomotives only went between 5mph (8km/h) and 30mph (48km/h). If you want your magitech to cover a couple centuries of real-world refinement on the same engines, speeds in excess of 100mph (160.9km/h) are possible.

As for using golems to do more than keep a steam engine running without getting tired, that is limited entirely by the power levels of your mages in setting.
Nereidalbel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 09:07 AM   #3
Michele

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jürgen Hubert View Post