Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-03-2011, 11:52 PM   #1
bfaslewis
Guest
 
Default munchkin zombies: curse! lose your headgear

i kicked open the door and was hit by "curse! you'd lose your head if it weren't attached" i had no head gear, so i wasn't sure if the lasting effects of the curse applied to me.

it says you lose your head gear, but can't get new head gear until the curse is lifted. if i never had head gear to begin with, do i need to hang onto the curse? or would it be like if i got cursed with lose 1 small item and i didn't have one to lose, so i just discard the curse since it has no immediate effect?

thanks in advance.
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 01:08 AM   #2
SmokeRulz
 
SmokeRulz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Default Re: munchkin zombies: curse! lose your headgear

The Curse has two effects: One immediate, one lasting. The immediate doesn't affect you, but I'd imagine that doesn't completely invalidate the lasting effect. You have no headgear to lose, so you don't lose any, but you still can't get anymore until the Curse is gone.

Let's wait for a mod to answer.
__________________
Munchkin: 1-8, boosters/supplements
Zombies: 1-4, Dice, 1-3, supplements
Cthulhu: 1-4, Dice, supplements
Apocalypse: 1-2, supplements
Legends: 1
SmokeRulz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 06:29 AM   #3
ComBAT
 
ComBAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Windsor Locks, CT
Default Re: munchkin zombies: curse! lose your headgear

The curse doesn't say to discard it if you have no head gear, so it should remain regardless.

Curses are normally pretty good at explaining conditional effects.
ComBAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 09:41 AM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: munchkin zombies: curse! lose your headgear

As stated above, there are two parts:

Immediate: Lose the Headgear you're wearing. If you aren't wearing Headgear, this doesn't apply.

Persistent: You can't wear Headgear until the Curse is lifted. This applies whether or not the immediate Curse affected you.

This card also provides a useful guide to the way Cheat! affects Curses. As a quick summary, it can't protect Items already in play, but it can let you play new ones.

In this case, if you already had Cheat!ed Headgear, the immediate effect would take it away. However, whether or not the immediate effect took place, Cheat! can be used with another piece of Headgear to avoid the persistent effect. (Of course, if you lost Cheat!ed Headgear to the first part of the Curse, you'd need another Cheat! card.)
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
If you have a question that isn't getting answered, we have a thread for that.

Let people like what they like. Don't be a gamer hater.

#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
curse, curses

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.