Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 09-12-2022, 09:27 AM   #1
VIVIT

Default [PU9] Cost of IQ under independent Will, Per, Cha

I've never used independent Will or Per before, but now I want to try it, and I want to try it with both—possibly with independent Cha as well for the benefit of all the clueless geniuses and lovable street-smart-book-dumb rogues out there—each at 10 points per level. This take a LOT of weight off of IQ's shoulders, especially since I'm considering:
  • Moving any IQ roll where the point is decisive execution rather than clever planning to Will instead (e.g. recovery from mental stun)
  • Making heavy use of Using Skills With Different Attributes
  • Encouraging the purchase of Talents
So I'm considering marking IQ down to compensate. But IQ is already overpriced underpriced to begin with. Just how much "weight" would you need to take off IQ before warranting a reduction of its value to 10? Heavy "floating" of skills between attributes will mean that I can't just count skills and call it a day (and also make talents more worthwhile, because talents don't float).

Lastly, what could I do to DX to make it so that it's not the odd one out at 20 points per level? I'm considering disjointing High Manual Dexterity from DX, calling it "Steady Hands", and then treat most DX rolls for things that would normally use HMD as IQ rolls instead—picking locks, soldering circuits, performing delicate surgery, etc. Or even Per rolls, in the case of things like Artist.

Thoughts?

Last edited by VIVIT; 09-12-2022 at 04:28 PM. Reason: Yes, I did mean "underpriced".
VIVIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2022, 09:52 AM   #2
Varyon

Default Re: [PU9] Cost of IQ under independent Will, Per, Cha