Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Other Munchkin Games

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-08-2011, 05:36 PM   #1
whitecloud197
 
whitecloud197's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Default Several Munchkin Quest Questions

Hey Guys,

After talking to a few retail sellers here in the city, who all played munchkin for several years, Highly recommended Munchkin Quest,

I bought it, played my first game last night, Very confusing the first time around when your trying to learn the rules.

So I have a few questions you guys might be able to answer:

1) How many Cards can you Hold in your hand ? I did not find reference to your hand max card size at all, I understand your Pack can hold 2 items, (played on the table) AND your belt, can hold infinate scrolls and potions, The belt Being one shot items.

Do the rules carry over that ONLY Items (Marked with gold price) can be played on the table ? the rules have no reference to that, so I assume ANY (one shot cards, not items) are included in your belt pack...

2) The Gold Pieces, what do you use them for ? I ran into 1 tile specifically that uses 500 GP to buy a Deus Ex Card up to 3 in your turn. Do you use gold Pieces for anything else in the game ?

3) We have often run into the problem when a monster is on the board, its trapped in the room. (Its a blue monster, and the arrow colors are red, green, orange, purple)

So on the monsters turn its trapped and cannot move....have there been any house rules to fix this ?

And on monster turns, assuming it is legal to move, only moves 1 room right ? theres not a dice roll to move 1-5 blocks that im missing ?


thanks for your time in answering these questions, I have more i just cannot remember at this time,
Thanks
whitecloud197 is offline  
Old 06-08-2011, 05:49 PM   #2
whitecloud197
 
whitecloud197's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Default Re: Several Munchkin Quest Questions

Another Question:

If you fight a monster, is your turn done ? or can you keep going (if you have 2 move tokes left to use for example)

So if you start your turn in a room which already has a monster in it, your in battle....after that battle can you continue to other rooms, and perhaps fight a second monster for that turn ?
whitecloud197 is offline  
Old 06-08-2011, 06:18 PM   #3
whitecloud197
 
whitecloud197's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Default Re: Several Munchkin Quest Questions

Found another question:

Several times during battle we found ourselves facing a dilemma.....

Someone played a card that said "Use at any time, all monsters of that color, or all monsters within 3 squares of the affected munchkin, move 1 room closer"

Does that cancel battle and the monster moves 1 square closer ?

I believe 1 card was a curse, Magnetism or something, and all monsters within 3 blocks moves 1 room closer to the cursed munchkin.

I wasnt sure so we played it as if IMMEDIATELY the monster moves therefore canceling the battle.
whitecloud197 is offline  
Old 06-08-2011, 07:11 PM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Several Munchkin Quest Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitecloud197 View Post
1) How many Cards can you Hold in your hand ? I did not find reference to your hand max card size at all, I understand your Pack can hold 2 items, (played on the table) AND your belt, can hold infinate scrolls and potions, The belt Being one shot items.

Do the rules carry over that ONLY Items (Marked with gold price) can be played on the table ? the rules have no reference to that, so I assume ANY (one shot cards, not items) are included in your belt pack...
At the end of your turn, you must have no more than five cards in your hand. You must find some way to get rid of the excess, or you have to give them away as Charity.

The only cards that may be played to the table are Items or cards such as Races and Classes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitecloud197 View Post
2) The Gold Pieces, what do you use them for ? I ran into 1 tile specifically that uses 500 GP to buy a Deus Ex Card up to 3 in your turn. Do you use gold Pieces for anything else in the game ?
You can turn them in as part or all of a payment for a level.

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitecloud197 View Post
3) We have often run into the problem when a monster is on the board, its trapped in the room. (Its a blue monster, and the arrow colors are red, green, orange, purple)

So on the monsters turn its trapped and cannot move....have there been any house rules to fix this ?
You're misunderstanding the monster movement rules. After each player turn, that player rolls the Monster Die. The monsters move according to the arrows that match the color rolled on the Monster Die. The monster's own color does not matter, except that a monster will not move out of a room occupied by the player with the same color. (So a red monster does not move out of a room containing the red player.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitecloud197 View Post
And on monster turns, assuming it is legal to move, only moves 1 room right ? theres not a dice roll to move 1-5 blocks that im missing ?
The monster keeps moving as long as the arrows match the Monster Die. However, monsters never "loop"; they stop immediately if they would otherwise have to enter a room they have already entered this turn.

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitecloud197 View Post
If you fight a monster, is your turn done ? or can you keep going (if you have 2 move tokes left to use for example
Your turn continues as long as you have Move left to use.

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitecloud197 View Post
Someone played a card that said "Use at any time, all monsters of that color, or all monsters within 3 squares of the affected munchkin, move 1 room closer"

Does that cancel battle and the monster moves 1 square closer ?
Yes, that card could end the battle by moving the monster to another room.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
If you have a question that isn't getting answered, we have a thread for that.

Let people like what they like. Don't be a gamer hater.

#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23
Andrew Hackard is offline  
Old 06-12-2011, 09:04 AM   #5
whitecloud197
 
whitecloud197's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Default Re: Several Munchkin Quest Questions

Andrew your amazing for answering all my questions, thank you so much, that really clears up a lot of confusion, but i just need clarification on 1 more thing,

monster movement,

ok so you roll the monster die to see what color the monster follows, if its a red, it follows the red arrows from room to room to room, until it runs into a room with no more red arrows and it stays there, so potentially the monster could move only 1 room.....or 6 rooms before it stops ?

And if you roll a monster die and a color comes up that is not a color of arrow in that particular room, the turn is just over ?
whitecloud197 is offline  
Old 06-12-2011, 09:33 AM   #6
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Several Munchkin Quest Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitecloud197 View Post
ok so you roll the monster die to see what color the monster follows,
No, you roll the die once each turn and ALL monsters follow that color.

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitecloud197 View Post
so potentially the monster could move only 1 room.....or 6 rooms before it stops ?

And if you roll a monster die and a color comes up that is not a color of arrow in that particular room, the turn is just over ?
Both of these are correct, with the clarification I made above.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
If you have a question that isn't getting answered, we have a thread for that.

Let people like what they like. Don't be a gamer hater.

#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23
Andrew Hackard is offline  
Old 06-12-2011, 03:05 PM   #7
whitecloud197
 
whitecloud197's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Default Re: Several Munchkin Quest Questions

Ohh Excellent, Even monsters of a different Base Color ?

ALL being Every monster on the table ?

sorry for the redundant questions, just want to make sure i have this right.
whitecloud197 is offline  
Old 06-12-2011, 03:20 PM   #8
MunchkinMan
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Several Munchkin Quest Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitecloud197 View Post
ALL being Every monster on the table ?
Yes, all the Monsters on the table. Every Monster Turn (the time between each player's turn) all the Monsters move based on one roll of the Monster die. The Monster's base color comes into play when a Monster enters a room containing the pawn of the player of that color, where the Monster must stop, but it has nothing else to do with Monster movement.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline  
Old 06-12-2011, 04:20 PM   #9
whitecloud197
 
whitecloud197's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Default Re: Several Munchkin Quest Questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
Yes, all the Monsters on the table. Every Monster Turn (the time between each player's turn) all the Monsters move based on one roll of the Monster die. The Monster's base color comes into play when a Monster enters a room containing the pawn of the player of that color, where the Monster must stop, but it has nothing else to do with Monster movement.
Right, Thank you for the clarification,
Wow, Knowing all this and looking back at my first game of munchkin quest....wtf was i doing hahaha.

Im really looking forward to my next game of Quest.
whitecloud197 is offline  
Old 06-16-2011, 09:24 PM   #10
whitecloud197
 
whitecloud197's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Alberta, Canada
Default

When your battling a monster and lose, you lose a red heart,
when you are fighting 2 monsters do you lose a heart PER monster?

Also when a monster appears on the board, how do you determine its color ? we have always rolled to determine its color...but it doesnt make sense if your only playing with 3 people and only have 3 colors in play.

Last edited by Andrew Hackard; 06-17-2011 at 01:56 AM.
whitecloud197 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.