Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-23-2019, 07:50 PM   #1
acrosome
 
acrosome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: The Land of Enchantment
Default Switch Race and Class during combat?

Let's say I am (have played) Class A and have Class B in my hand. I kick open the door and draw a monster who gets a bonus vs. Class A and a penalty vs. Class B.

You can discard a Race or Class card at any time.
You can play a new class or race card at any time on your own turn.

So, can I discard Class A and play Class B, and turn the monster's bonus into a penalty during combat?

Obviously, the same answer would apply to Race.
acrosome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2019, 08:30 PM   #2
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Switch Race and Class during combat?

Yes, thatís perfectly legal.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
If you have a question that isn't getting answered, we have a thread for that.

Let people like what they like. Don't be a gamer hater.

#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2020, 03:10 PM   #3
Loath_Golcar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Default Re: Switch Race and Class during combat?

Hello! I'm confused, because the rulings (I refer in this case to the ones for Munchkin Pathfinder, which have a section that explains when cards can be used or not) say that you can DISCARD a Class/Race everytime you want, even in combat... but the same rulings clearly say that you can only CHANGE your discarded Class/Race during your turn EXCEPT during fights...
Loath_Golcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2020, 03:32 PM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Switch Race and Class during combat?

I'm afraid you're misreading them. You may play a new Class at any time on your turn, including during combat.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
If you have a question that isn't getting answered, we have a thread for that.

Let people like what they like. Don't be a gamer hater.

#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2020, 04:34 PM   #5
Loath_Golcar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Default Re: Switch Race and Class during combat?

Ok, thank you for clarifying, I'll play like this from now on ✌🏻
Loath_Golcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2020, 11:54 AM   #6
Louchavelli
 
Join Date: May 2020
Default Re: Switch Race and Class during combat?

Good to know. I was under the impression you couldn't change class/race during combat. Maybe I misconstrued the rules, but I could have sworn that was printed in one of the rule sheets.
Louchavelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2020, 05:10 PM   #7
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Switch Race and Class during combat?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Louchavelli View Post
Good to know. I was under the impression you couldn't change class/race during combat. Maybe I misconstrued the rules, but I could have sworn that was printed in one of the rule sheets.
I hear this a lot. If it DID make it into print, that is an error. Class and Race cards (and other, similar cards such as Factions from Munchkin Pathfinder) may be played at any time on your turn, including during combat.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
If you have a question that isn't getting answered, we have a thread for that.

Let people like what they like. Don't be a gamer hater.

#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2021, 02:31 PM   #8
Henrique
 
Join Date: May 2021
Default Re: Switch Race and Class during combat?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
I hear this a lot. If it DID make it into print, that is an error. Class and Race cards (and other, similar cards such as Factions from Munchkin Pathfinder) may be played at any time on your turn, including during combat.
Whenever a class or race is changed, should the initial class always be discarded or is there a way for it to return to the hand?
Henrique is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2021, 10:17 PM   #9
Draqwla
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Russia, Pyatigorsk (Five-hills)
Default Re: Switch Race and Class during combat?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Henrique View Post
Whenever a class or race is changed, should the initial class always be discarded or is there a way for it to return to the hand?
Only with the help of "Wand of dowsing" or similar cards. Or the Bug's abilities. In all other cases, just sadly glance at the valuable card that going the discard.
Draqwla is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.