Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 06-01-2012, 02:01 PM   #1
Nihimon

Default Meta-Spells: Delay

I'm fairly new to GURPS, but I've spent the last couple of days building a Wizard from the Dungeon Fantasy books.

I have a question about the Delay spell.

Can I use Delay to cast Hawk Flight on myself, and then have it automatically take effect on my next turn after I snap my fingers?

The Reflex section talks about doing things like casting Missile Shield or Force Dome as a Reflex, but that doing so would be extravagant because Reflexed spells are Duration: Instantaneous. Can I cast spells like these as Delayed spells, and get their benefit (after the 1-second delay)?
Nihimon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 02:31 PM   #2
Anthony

Default Re: Meta-Spells: Delay

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nihimon View Post
Can I use Delay to cast Hawk Flight on myself, and then have it automatically take effect on my next turn after I snap my fingers?
Yes, though it's frequently not very useful to do so, since delay counts as a spell on and thus gives penalties to other spells.
Anthony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2012, 02:35 PM   #3
Nihimon

Thanks for the reply.

Since Delay lasts 2 hours, and only costs 3 to maintain, and I get one point of Energy Reserve (Magical) back every 10 minutes, I was considering having it active at all times, so that I don't have to take 3 seconds to cast it at the beginning of combat, for example.
Old 06-01-2012, 02:49 PM   #4
Anthony

Quote:
Thanks for the reply.

Since Delay lasts 2 hours, and only costs 3 to maintain, and I get one point of Energy Reserve (Magical) back every 10 minutes, I was considering having it active at all times, so that I don't have to take 3 seconds to cast it at the beginning of combat, for example.