Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2020, 12:41 PM   #11
Ujeen
 
Join Date: May 2019
Default Re: Epic Munchkin + Pets Rock

Does a pet sent to a combat still belong to an epic human who has just sent him?

This one is tricky for me, because:
YES would mean that we have to discard that pet from the combat once the sender changes his race. (because you lose your pet once you’re no longer an epic human)
NO would mean that the human who’s just sent a pet to protect himself can make a new one in place of the former and send him to the very same combat(!).

Can you please rule that out?
Ujeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2020, 04:55 PM   #12
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Epic Munchkin + Pets Rock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ujeen View Post
Does a pet sent to a combat still belong to an epic human who has just sent him?
No, just like any other card played into a combat.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ujeen View Post
NO would mean that the human who’s just sent a pet to protect himself can make a new one in place of the former and send him to the very same combat(!).
Your timing is off. You can only make a new Pet when you would otherwise be fighting that monster.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
If you have a question that isn't getting answered, we have a thread for that.

Let people like what they like. Don't be a gamer hater.

#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2020, 08:04 AM   #13
Ujeen
 
Join Date: May 2019
Default Re: Epic Munchkin + Pets Rock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrew Hackard View Post
No, just like any other card played into a combat.

Your timing is off. You can only make a new Pet when you would otherwise be fighting that monster.
Sorry, does that mean that the epic human may make a pet ONLY at the beginning of the combat? I.e. once he decided to fight with l5 he’s no longer allowed to pet that monster
Ujeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2020, 11:13 AM   #14
Ujeen
 
Join Date: May 2019
Default Re: Epic Munchkin + Pets Rock

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ujeen View Post
Sorry, does that mean that the epic human may make a pet ONLY at the beginning of the combat? I.e. once he decided to fight with l5 he’s no longer allowed to pet that monster
Let me put this one as an example:
I am an epic human and I start fighting against two l5 monsters. I pet one of them and send him immediately to fight against the second one. Then my rival winders a l9 monster to this combat.
At this moment can I pet the second l5 monster and use it immediately having both l5 monsters fighting for me against l9?
Ujeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2020, 04:30 PM   #15
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Epic Munchkin + Pets Rock

OK, I reread the rule (and I misread your earlier question, sorry).

Because the rule says "instead of fighting," you can ONLY use it on a Level 1-5 monster that you are currently in combat against. That said, I see nothing in the rule preventing you from using one Pet and then taking another low-Level monster in that same fight as another Pet, as long as you don't have more than one at the same time.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
If you have a question that isn't getting answered, we have a thread for that.

Let people like what they like. Don't be a gamer hater.

#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
epic, human, humongous

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.