Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2011, 06:11 AM   #1
Demosthenes
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default Raincoat and Transferal Potion

Hopefully a simple question:

Scenario: Player A and B are fighting a monster. The monster gets buffed and mated and ends up at a value of 74. They're losing, so player B plays transferal potion to transfer combat to player C who is wearing the raincoat (and tinfoil hat, though I doubt that matters here). Is this valid? I guess it depends on ones interpretation of the raincoat card and whether transferal potion is played on another munchkin or on the monster?

If they cannot transfer it to the munchkin with the raincoat, does transferal potion go back into player B's hand (to be able to be played on someone else) or is it discarded having had no effect?

Since it was player A's turn originally, can player B play the potion to transfer it solely to player A.

Thanks for the help.
Demosthenes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 06:40 AM   #2
Eben
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: South Dakota
Default Re: Raincoat and Transferal Potion

Yes to first scenario. Raincoat protects against potions played in combat, transferral happened before that players combat.

No to second. A and B already in combat together.
__________________
MIB 7483
Center Point, AL
Eben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 06:48 AM   #3
Demosthenes
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default Re: Raincoat and Transferal Potion

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eben View Post
Yes to first scenario. Raincoat protects against potions played in combat, transferral happened before that players combat.

No to second. A and B already in combat together.
Actually, raincoat says (and I could be wrong, but this is what I recall from the discussion): "other players cannot use potions to interfere with your combats".

The question being whether causing a combat is interfering with your combats, which could potentially include the state of not being in combat. I.E. Player C's combats are 0 currently, transferal potion increases his combats to 1 thereby interfering with his combats.
Demosthenes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 09:42 AM   #4
MunchkinMan
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Raincoat and Transferal Potion

The player wearing the Raincoat was not the player hit with the potion. That the combat can then be transferred to him is not affected by the Raincoat.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2011, 09:57 AM   #5
Demosthenes
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default Re: Raincoat and Transferal Potion

Quote:
Originally Posted by MunchkinMan View Post
The player wearing the Raincoat was not the player hit with the potion. That the combat can then be transferred to him is not affected by the Raincoat.
Thank you for answering my question.

To be certain I'm not mistaken, this is what I take from your statement: Transferal Potion is being played upon the player(s) currently in combat; not the player combat is being transferred to, nor the monster(s).

Thanks again.
Demosthenes is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gameplay, mechanics, potion, raincoat, transferal

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.