Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2024, 04:07 PM   #11
catopower
 
Join Date: Mar 2024
Default Re: Fantasy Trip Wizard dismissing spell?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shostak View Post
There is nothing to clarify--the rules are explicit that wizard can create certain things that last for 12 turns, regardles of how inconvenient they might become in that time: Fire, Wall, and Shadow.
I'm not arguing with you. I'm merely commenting on how I like how this rule can play out. Sorry if this out of line.

Last edited by catopower; 03-12-2024 at 04:12 PM.
catopower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2024, 05:22 PM   #12
Shostak
 
Shostak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: New England
Default Re: Fantasy Trip Wizard dismissing spell?

Quote:
Originally Posted by catopower View Post
I'm not arguing with you. I'm merely commenting on how I like how this rule can play out. Sorry if this out of line.
Not out of line at all. I hope you didn't find my comment gruff--I was trying to be supportive!
__________________
* * * *
Anthony Shostak
myriangia.wordpress.com
Shostak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2024, 04:01 PM   #13
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: Fantasy Trip Wizard dismissing spell?

If you do allow dismissal, does this cover partial dismissal?
"Leave these two edge hexes of my 3-hex fire and dismiss the middle hex!"
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2024, 06:47 PM   #14
Axly Suregrip
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Durham, NC
Default Re: Fantasy Trip Wizard dismissing spell?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hcobb View Post
If you do allow dismissal, does this cover partial dismissal?
"Leave these two edge hexes of my 3-hex fire and dismiss the middle hex!"
yes, I allow individual hexes to be dismiss.
Axly Suregrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2024, 10:57 AM   #15
Bill_in_IN
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Indiana
Default Re: Fantasy Trip Wizard dismissing spell?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hcobb View Post
If you do allow dismissal, does this cover partial dismissal?
"Leave these two edge hexes of my 3-hex fire and dismiss the middle hex!"
Quote:
Originally Posted by Axly Suregrip View Post
yes, I allow individual hexes to be dismiss.
While casting, I believe that the multi-hex creations are required to be connected hexes. Now, if you are taking about dismissing hexes of a creation cast in a previous turn, I may need to be convinced. I have been treating it as all or nothing. If a 3-hex fire or wall is cast, the same creation is dismissed. I have no problem with them being deactivated prior to 12 turns. I guess that I can't get my mind off of the the consecutive hex requirement when cast and then carry it through as such.
Bill_in_IN is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2024, 06:42 PM   #16
orrgaaszm
 
Join Date: Apr 2024
Default Re: Fantasy Trip Wizard dismissing spell?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Axly Suregrip View Post
Candy Crush said : I allow wizards to end all creation spells at will. Yes, it is only images and illusions that have this documented but by extension it is reasonable. Fire spell allows for a lot more control in that the wizard may create smaller useful (not dangerous) fires.

This is how I see it:

The shadow, wall or fire is a magical creation that exists strictly because the wizard made it and is still tied to it because he may recast it from beyond creation spell range. Since he is able to extend its existence he should be able to end it.

The fire, wall, shadows do last 12 turns if the wizard should die.

I would be fine playing with a GM that did this either way. As long as done consistently.
I concur.Since he is able to extend its existence he should be able to end it.
orrgaaszm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2024, 07:27 PM   #17
Axly Suregrip
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Durham, NC
Default Re: Fantasy Trip Wizard dismissing spell?

It is also worth noting that Destroy Creation spell removes 1 hex of a creation spell, like Fire, regardless of the original size.

Given the above, I will stick with allowing wizards to dismiss any of the fire/walls/shadow hexes they created without dismissing the whole thing.
Axly Suregrip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2024, 07:46 AM   #18
Bill_in_IN
 
Join Date: Dec 2021
Location: Indiana
Default Re: Fantasy Trip Wizard dismissing spell?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Axly Suregrip View Post
It is also worth noting that Destroy Creation spell removes 1 hex of a creation spell, like Fire, regardless of the original size.

Given the above, I will stick with allowing wizards to dismiss any of the fire/walls/shadow hexes they created without dismissing the whole thing.
This thread gives some interesting takes on the creation spells. We were always fine with dismissal before the 12 turns expire. I don't think anyone ever wanted to do a partial dismissal. Our dismissals were for each casting. I guess that I would allow partial dismissals too.
Bill_in_IN is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.