Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > Roleplaying in General

Old 11-16-2021, 04:34 PM   #1
Embassy of Time

Default Sauce / food puns for roleplaying game?

I am in the process of making the first draft for a complete rewrite of the system me and a few friends made from a bunch of GURPS house rules. I am not looking for beta testers or even beta readers, but... well...

I had an idea. That idea got a bit out of hand, and long story short, the entire system is being written with food, especially sauces, as a thick, thick metaphor. Everything has sauce or food names, everything is explained along sauce or food lines, and the layout is made to look like instructions on making and serving sauces. It's a bit wacky right now, but it makes writing more fun.

Problem is, I'm not an expert on food, and I am running out of cooking / sauce terms to describe stuff! So if anyone in here is well versed in the field of sauces and cooking overall, or just has sufficiently wacky ideas for how to write an RPG supplement as a rant on sauces, I would very much like to know!

What exists of the first draft is here. It is very much a draft (and the current pictures have jumped pages, sorry), and as mentioned, beta play or reads are not needed for some time. But it shows the idea and what I am already using.

May the Sauce be with you!
Embassy of Time is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2021, 09:14 PM   #2
jason taylor

Default Re: Sauce / food puns for roleplaying game?

The primary star is easy. Pick the most pungent sauce you can think of.

The Venusian analogue will be called "Guacamole" being green.

The Earth analogue will be called Blue Hawaiian. Which is a cocktail not a sauce, but the ocean is blue.

If there is a desert martian type name it Maple. It is brown. Like Maple syrup.