Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 09-15-2010, 03:02 AM   #1
Grom

Default HELP!!! Im a newbie

I am new to the GURPS scene and am writing a scenario for my friends to go on, what I need to know is :--------
When I create an NPC, what stats do I need at hand for quick access (I.E. combat etc), or do I have to go through the whole character creation thing for each NPC and have them all at hand.
I would greatly appreciate any help
Old 09-15-2010, 03:22 AM   #2
vicky_molokh
GURPS FAQ Keeper

Default Re: HELP!!! Im a newbie

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grom View Post
I am new to the GURPS scene and am writing a scenario for my friends to go on, what I need to know is :--------
When I create an NPC, what stats do I need at hand for quick access (I.E. combat etc), or do I have to go through the whole character creation thing for each NPC and have them all at hand.
Don't use points. Use the stats that make sense for the character. Avoid NPCs with abnormally high stats (unless they're some sort of cinematic fantasy boss monster), or abysmally low (unless they're essentially scenery).

Important: for survivable yet challenging combat, judge by specific stats, relative to PC stats, regardless of their point cost. Example: a 25-point sniper will easily kill a 100-point scientist if he even tries to play to his strengths.
Old 09-15-2010, 03:23 AM   #3
OldSam

No, absolutely not a full character generation, way to much work! ;)

Basically you just need to write down some Attributes, Basic Speed, Basic Move, Hitpoints and a few primary skills (Weapon-Skill/s and NPC-Profession), that fit to your idea. Maybe some noticeable (dis)avantages, too.
Then of course, you need a weapon of choice and eventually some body-armor.

Just write down what's really important and improvise everything really.