![]() |
![]() |
#1 |
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: West Virginia, USA
|
![]()
Can you zap and discard any amount of cards? Or can you only discard equal to or less than the amount of damage you’re trying to prevent?
You may wonder why would anyone want to discard more than they need to: hot poker. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#2 | |
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Topeka, KS
|
![]()
From The rules:
Quote:
(This means I can totally discard 13 cards to prevent 6 damage from a Toll Dragon, Matt) (hehe)
__________________
-Brandon Murphy MiB 0787 "I wouldn't even take a whiz on this! I used to DREAM of taking a whiz on this!" - The Monarch |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#3 | |
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: West Virginia, USA
|
![]() Quote:
I’m not giving up on this one! The pain of getting you to 17 then you doing 20 in one turn has left a bad taste in my mouth :-). What it comes down to is the intent of the card (again sweater) itself. Was the intent to allow the discarding of as many cards as possible, or was the intent only to discard equal to or less then the damage one is attempting to prevent. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#4 |
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Topeka, KS
|
![]()
I have further evidence:
The Card again Sweater has 3 distinct steps: 1 - Zap(This activates the card) 2 - Discard X cards(this now gives it the ability to prevent a maximum of X damage, where X is the number of cards discarded) 3 - Prevent up to, but not exceeding, X damage(As per determined value X above) So, as per the rule for Prevent, this is a perfectly valid move. And the point of the card, as with all cards in the game, is to be munchkinly, and this was a very munchkinly, but legal, play. (And to anyone reading this thinking we are actually mad at each other while arguing this point, we are not. This is a spirited debate that I'm sure we are both smiling widely while typing. There is zero animosity here, Mods.)
__________________
-Brandon Murphy MiB 0787 "I wouldn't even take a whiz on this! I used to DREAM of taking a whiz on this!" - The Monarch |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#5 |
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: West Virginia, USA
|
![]()
Ha, yes indeed. We need to know because we play so often (I like to think more than anyone else out there) and rules clarifications are important for our meta game!
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#6 |
Administrator
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Central Network
|
![]()
The cost (Discard X Cards) is not limited by the actual damage done in this case. Prevent in the rules does allow for scenarios where more damage is prevented than is being dealt.
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#7 |
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: West Virginia, USA
|
![]()
Thanks Aleph!
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#9 |
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: West Virginia, USA
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | |
|
|