Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip > The Fantasy Trip: House Rules

Old 04-25-2020, 12:38 PM   #1
wishmaster

Default The Gamma Trip: attempting to port some Gamma World stuff to TFT

The Gamma Trip: Penny For Your Thoughts?
Hi everyone! I'm making a post here to ask for suggestions, tips, and tricks for a project I'm going to be starting pretty soon, as well as just to give anyone who might be interested a heads up.
  • WTF is this?
    I've been playing Melee and Wizard for a couple of weeks now with my dad (thanks to the lockdown we can't assemble a larger group) and we're going to be moving to the full RPG system with In The Labyrinth soon. Suffice it to say, I'm very new to the game, having barely even started it. However, I've been considering porting the mutations, items, weapons, and monsters from Gamma World 2e to TFT, as a sort of Science Fiction skin/expansion pack.
  • Why use Fantasy Trip?
    First of all, the simplicity of TFT is really attractive, and combat is a blast. Second of all, TFT is actually capable of being played solo (or, in this case, without a GM), especially with an enemy AI card deck that I found, but even through things like Death Test and other adventures designed for solo play. This means that if you have two players, both can choose to be characters, instead of one having to GM and the other having to be a lonely player. Playing minus a GM when it's just two people is a lot more fun. This is the perfect quarantine RPG!