Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2015, 03:40 PM   #1
RoadieRich
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Default Apocalypse: Do Closed Seals count towards the Seventh Seal?

So I've checked the rules and the FAQ, but there seems to be no clear answer.

When counting Seals for determining the end of game, do you count every seal that has been opened in the game, or just the ones that are *still* open, and not those that have been closed?

I can see the first being problematic in long blended games, when there may be a long time between seals being opened, but it does seem more thematic.
RoadieRich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2015, 03:49 PM   #2
Mister Ed
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Portland, Oregon
Default Re: Apocalypse: Do Closed Seals count towards the Seventh Seal?

Only open Seals count. Closed Seals are supposed to be put back on the bottom of the Seal deck, anyway, so the only way you'd even know how many there were is if you were doing some bookkeeping.
Mister Ed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2015, 07:36 PM   #3
MunchkinMan
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Apocalypse: Do Closed Seals count towards the Seventh Seal?

Though the wording could be more explicit, it is such that if the 7th Seal is opened, the game ends, not after 7 seals have been opened. That means that if a Seal is closed, then it's not there anymore to be counted. In other words, if the 5th Seal is closed, then the 5th Seal is not open, and the next Seal to be opened will be the 5th Seal.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2015, 08:06 PM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Apocalypse: Do Closed Seals count towards the Seventh Seal?

To put things VERY plainly: closed Seals don't matter. Only pay attention to the Seals that are currently, at this very moment, open.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
If you have a question that isn't getting answered, we have a thread for that.

Let people like what they like. Don't be a gamer hater.

#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
apocalypse, rules clarification, seals, seventh seal

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.