Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Old 01-23-2019, 04:17 PM   #1
Fred Skin

Default Tech & super science

I'm new to TFT and I wanted to know if there is any 'official' tech or super science to be found. The rules appear strictly fantasy, but the background suggests otherwise.
Fred Skin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2019, 04:35 PM   #2
hcobb

Default Re: Tech & super science

https://thefantasytrip.game/news/201...heroes-in-tft/
Old 01-23-2019, 05:06 PM   #3
Skarg

The Cidri background says that there used to be known high tech and super science but that now none of that is generally available. But there may be left over exceptional artifacts. These tend to be on a case by case basis, and understanding them and messing with them tends to be the specialty of the Mechanicians' Guild (q.v. in In The Labyrinth).

The highest somewhat-commonly-available technology in Cidri that has stats tends to be the unreliable gunpowder weapons (arquebus, blunderbuss, grenade, petard, bombard) but the Mechanicians' Guild may also have some gadgets (locks and traps and siege engines, certainly).

Well, and there is Chemistry, with which one can (try to) concoct the supposedly non-magical potions that are essentially a form of super science.
Skarg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2019, 06:30 PM   #4
philreed
I do stuff and things.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred Skin View Post
I'm new to TFT and I wanted to know if there is any 'official' tech or super science to be found. The rules appear strictly fantasy, but the background suggests otherwise.
License wish list:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thundarr_the_Barbarian
philreed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2019, 06:36 PM   #5
TippetsTX

Quote:
Originally Posted by philreed View Post
Oooo... I'll donate for that!