Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Board and Card Games > Card Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2016, 02:19 AM   #1
Optimizer2040
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Default Knightmare Chess: Rules questions about Doomsayer and Spoils of War

Hi there SJG staff! I really hope one of you guys gets to read my message.

I just have some rules questions about some cards in Knightmare Chess:


1. If I play Doomsayer, and I have, say, two Rooks in play, and I say the word 'Rook'... which Rook do I lose? How is it decided? Does my opponent decide which Rook is captured? Or I decide? Or maybe the captured piece is chosen at random?


2. In the card text of Spoils of War, it says that your capturing piece transforms into a piece of the same kind it captured... but then that would mean I could use my King to capture, and it would transform into another piece!

I suspect Spoils of War should have the restriction of not being able to be played when the capturing piece is a King.


3. In the card text of Demotion, it says that you replace one of your opponent's pieces (except a King or Queen) with one of his or her pawns you've captured.

What happens to the piece that is being replaced? It is considered captured, or dead?


That is all! I really hope I can get some help from you guys. I would thank you forever! :)

Last edited by Optimizer2040; 09-15-2016 at 07:17 PM.
Optimizer2040 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2016, 09:02 AM   #2
flyingwombat
 
flyingwombat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Alameda, CA
Default Re: Knightmare Chess: Rules questions about Doomsayer and Spoils of War

I am not a staffer but here's a link to the errata for Knightmare Chess: http://www.sjgames.com/knightmare/errata.html

Hope this helps.
__________________
Fraser: "Could you elucidate, sir?"
Welsh: "No, no. Not since the late sixties."
Ray: "That's Canadian for explain." --- from "due South" episode Seeing Is Believing
flyingwombat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2021, 09:49 AM   #3
lucienpsmith
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Default Re: Knightmare Chess: Rules questions about Doomsayer and Spoils of War

Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimizer2040 View Post
Hi there SJG staff! I really hope one of you guys gets to read my message.

I just have some rules questions about some cards in Knightmare Chess:


1. If I play Doomsayer, and I have, say, two Rooks in play, and I say the word 'Rook'... which Rook do I lose? How is it decided? Does my opponent decide which Rook is captured? Or I decide? Or maybe the captured piece is chosen at random?


2. In the card text of Spoils of War, it says that your capturing piece transforms into a piece of the same kind it captured... but then that would mean I could use my King to capture, and it would transform into another piece!

I suspect Spoils of War should have the restriction of not being able to be played when the capturing piece is a King.


3. In the card text of Demotion, it says that you replace one of your opponent's pieces (except a King or Queen) with one of his or her pawns you've captured.

What happens to the piece that is being replaced? It is considered captured, or dead?


That is all! I really hope I can get some help from you guys. I would thank you forever! :)
DOOMSAYER - You get to choose which of your own rooks to remove.

SPOILS OF WAR - it can be used on a king to transform it into another piece. It is still a king and the rules for kings remain the same (see COUP).

DEMOTION - The demoted piece is dead, it is not placed with the captured pieces.
lucienpsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
chess, doomsayer, knightmare, knightmare chess

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.