Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2023, 09:20 PM   #1
cupbearer
 
cupbearer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Canada
Default Pummeling and Reach

Hi

Martial arts says you can pummel with a reach C or 1 weapon.

Im confused about what the rule means. Most weapons have a reach of 1 but may have a longer reach also, do they mean a reach of no longer than 1? Or do they mean if you have a minimum reach of 1 or C ?

In the case of weapons that take a ready to change reach, if you change it to reach 1 do they qualify as being able to Pummel?
__________________
Oliver.
cupbearer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2023, 10:01 PM   #2
Varyon
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Default Re: Pummeling and Reach

I believe it's stating that you can't pummel with anything longer than Reach 1. Swords, with a built-in dedicated pommel, get an exception to this. So, you can't pummel with a halberd, for example. I'd say weapons where you can take a Ready to switch Reach shouldn't be able to either - when you have such a weapon at Reach 1, this means a good deal of its handle/shaft is well beneath your hand, which doesn't really work for pummeling. An exception I would allow here would be with a whip - regardless of what Reach you have it Ready for, you should be able to pummel close foes with the handle.
__________________
GURPS Overhaul
Varyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2023, 12:12 PM   #3
cupbearer
 
cupbearer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Canada
Default Re: Pummeling and Reach

Quote:
Originally Posted by Varyon View Post
I believe it's stating that you can't pummel with anything longer than Reach 1. Swords, with a built-in dedicated pommel, get an exception to this. So, you can't pummel with a halberd, for example. I'd say weapons where you can take a Ready to switch Reach shouldn't be able to either - when you have such a weapon at Reach 1, this means a good deal of its handle/shaft is well beneath your hand, which doesn't really work for pummeling. An exception I would allow here would be with a whip - regardless of what Reach you have it Ready for, you should be able to pummel close foes with the handle.
Yeah i think you are right
__________________
Oliver.
cupbearer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.