Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2015, 08:53 AM   #1
Ranger Bear
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Canada
Default "Asking for Help" clarification.

Hey Guys,

I tried looking thru the forums for an answer, alas... no such luck. Here's my question/scenario:

So last night we played with 6 players at Munchkin 1 thru 5. Lots of cards, lots of fun! Although, someone, who will remain nameless and wanted to win BADLY created a sort of "team" with her boyfriend. She was insisting on winning our Game Night trophy.

That being said.. here is the scenario:

She would "BAM" open a door card and even is all her bonuses made her a Level 26... the monster would be a mere Level 7. Right away, even knowing that she would be able to beat the Monster (BUT be in fear of retribution from the table) would immediately ask "Assistance" to her boyfriend who was all together with bonuses a Level 23. As much as we made the monster ancient and with a mate... their "team" combined levels made it impossible for her to get the "bad stuff" so to speak.

That being said, is one allowed to request assistance from any other players right off the bat specially given that her own Level is much superior that the Monster's level?

Is she a tactical genius or were we stooped into letting her get away with such a tactic?

Lemme know please... our OFFICIAL game night trophy winner still awaits this post's answer.

Ranger Bear
Ottawa, Canada
Ranger Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 09:04 AM   #2
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: "Asking for Help" clarification.

I have been told in the past that you cannot ask for help if you are winning a combat. You must be losing before you make a request.
Hawk139 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 11:25 AM   #3
MunchkinMan's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: "Asking for Help" clarification.

If your combat strength (Level + bonuses) is beating the Monster side's combat strength, you can't ask for help. This is actually stated in the rules since asking for help (as well as running away) is described as something you can do if you're currently losing the combat.
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep --
MiB #1029
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote

assistance, superior level, team

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.