Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin Collectible Card Game

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-17-2018, 03:10 PM   #1
Join Date: May 2018
Default Can Nun Slap! prevent Survivor abilities?

Since Nun Slap! only ignores an ability until the end of the fight, does that mean Survivor is an ability which Nun Slap! is incapable of preventing?

For instance: If my opponent has hired a Combo Rat, and I committed no weapons or Allys, can I play Nun Slap! to prevent the Combo Rat's Survivor ability from triggering?

Thank you in advance!
DarthBayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2019, 11:31 PM   #2
Malkavman's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Topeka, KS
Default Re: Can Nun Slap! prevent Survivor abilities?

From the rules:

Originally Posted by DarthBayne View Post
A keyword ability. When a hired Monster survives a fight, this ability triggers before that Monster is moved to the stash.
My interpretation is that since the ability triggers before it is moved to the stash, then the ability happens during the fight (just at the end). I have actually used this on a Goblin Kaboomer to keep him from being removed from the game, and going to the stash instead, so I can use him again.
-Brandon Murphy
MiB 0787

"I wouldn't even take a whiz on this! I used to DREAM of taking a whiz on this!" - The Monarch
Malkavman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 02:40 PM   #3
Aleph's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: The Central Network
Default Re: Can Nun Slap! prevent Survivor abilities?

Nun Slap ignores the hired monster's abilities until the end of the fight. If you look at the end of fight rules you will see that the first thing that happens in the end of the fight. Then all abilities that happen or trigger at the end of the fight occur. This means that the Survivor abilities are no longer being ignored, as they do not trigger until the fight has ended.

Since Nun Slap is only in effect until the fight ends, and Survivor only happens after the fight has ended, they will not overlap in duration, so Nun Slap cannot prevent Survivor abilities from occurring after the fight.
Aleph is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:33 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.