Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2023, 01:27 AM   #1
Cammagno
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Default Princess Plant (Adventure Time 2) and discard One-Shots

Some One-Shot Items (for example Princess Plant from Adventure Time 2) say "discard to " get their effect.
Is this "discard" correct for One-Shots, or it should say "play"?

There are other One-Shots (for example Bezoar, Fawkes the Phoenix and Felix Felicis from Harry Potter) that has a normal "play" effect (a bonus to either side) plus a "discard" one, so I can assume that in those cases its purposely differentiated, but Princess Plant has no "play" effect (but it says "play at any time" at the top, making even more confusion in my mind).

I'm asking because it's not the exactly same, some cards prevent the player from playing cards but not from discarding them (see for example this FAQ)
Cammagno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2023, 08:03 AM   #2
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Princess Plant (Adventure Time 2) and discard One-Shots

One-shots are generally played and then discarded after the combat. Cards which are discarded immediately usually have some sort of immediate effect, such as discarding other cards, where they are not needed on the table to add up into the combat. I do not know what the effect of Princess Plant is.
Brf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2023, 05:20 AM   #3
Cammagno
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Default Re: Princess Plant (Adventure Time 2) and discard One-Shots

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brf View Post
I do not know what the effect of Princess Plant is.
its effect is gender change
Cammagno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2023, 06:26 AM   #4
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Princess Plant (Adventure Time 2) and discard One-Shots

That is an immediate change, not a lasting effect, so there is no need to keep the card on the table during the combat. Therefore, it is appropriate to discard it immediately rather than play it to the table. I would think the victim would keep the card in front of themselves to remind them they are gender-changed. I know the original Curse! Change Sex has the victim keep the card until after their next combat because there is a -5 combat penalty.
Brf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
adventure time, discard, one-shot

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.