Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Other Munchkin Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-30-2011, 07:42 PM   #1
bonehomme
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pennsylvania
Default Mate & Enhancers

A monster's Mate is a separate monster with all the attributes of the original Monster. If either one is enhanced, both of them get the same enhancements. So says the Mate card. Now, suppose one of the monsters has its enhancements removed, for instance by use of the Cotion of Ponfusion, which can remove all the enhancements from ONE monster. Does that mean that the enhancements are removed from both monsters? The Mate card is silent on this. And we all know that what is NOT in the rules can be as important as what IS in the rules. This situation came up in a Boss Fight and resulted in a very heated discussion.
bonehomme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2011, 07:48 PM   #2
MunchkinMan
 
MunchkinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Macungie, PA
Default Re: Mate & Enhancers

The Mate card actually does speak on this issue. The Mate will always have the same enhancements as the original. If you remove the Monster Enhancers from the original Monster, the Mate will not have them, either. If you add Monster Enhancers to the original, the Mate will get them, too. Yes, the Mate is a separate Monster, but it is constantly being defined by the original. In Munchkin Quest, the reverse can be said about the original Monster with respect to the Mate.
__________________
Erik D. Zane
Munchkin NetRep -- munchkin@sjgames.com
MiB #1029

Last edited by MunchkinMan; 05-30-2011 at 08:56 PM.
MunchkinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 07:37 PM   #3
Emuen
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Default Re: Mate & Enhancers

If the enhancer Monsters-Ade is applied, which gives +5 to each monster, does the mates then each give this enhancement to each other, making it a combined plus 20 monster power?
Emuen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 06:16 AM   #4
Andrew Hackard
Munchkin Line Editor
 
Andrew Hackard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Default Re: Mate & Enhancers

Monster-Ade is a Treasure, not a Monster Enhancer. Mate would not reduplicate its effect.
__________________
Andrew Hackard, Munchkin Line Editor
If you have a question that isn't getting answered, we have a thread for that.

Let people like what they like. Don't be a gamer hater.

#PlayMunchkin on social media: Twitter || Facebook || Instagram || YouTube
Follow us on Kickstarter: Steve Jackson Games and Warehouse 23
Andrew Hackard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
boss, enhancer, mate, rule

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.