Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-30-2023, 03:20 PM   #1
Airblader
 
Join Date: May 2021
Default Do treasures need to be drawn atomatically?

Edit: title is supposed to read “atomically”, i.e., at once.

We were playing Munchkin Harry Potter and had the following situation: several players are Level 9, I am Level 8. There are two remaining cards in the treasure pile.

I beat a monster, and gain a level and three treasure cards. I take the two remaining treasure cards while a player starts shuffling the discards to replenish so I can draw my third. However, one of my two just drawn treasures allows me to pick any card from the treasure discards that I want. I ask to play this card immediately before replenishing (which would empty the discard pile), because I know the discards contain a GUAL card that specifically allows winning the game.

This led to a discussion whether I am allowed to draw treasures one by one and play them before moving on, or first need to draw all treasures (forcing the reshuffle). The rules don’t state anything here as far as I can tell. Is there a known ruling on this?

Last edited by Airblader; 09-30-2023 at 04:19 PM.
Airblader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2023, 07:40 AM   #2
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Do treasures need to be drawn atomatically?

No. You can't play a card in the middle of drawing treasures. Even if you draw Hoard or its equivalent, which is immediately replaced with three more treasure draws, you draw your treasures first before playing them.
Brf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2023, 08:13 AM   #3
Airblader
 
Join Date: May 2021
Default Re: Do treasures need to be drawn atomatically?

Thanks for the reply; so “draw X treasures” is considered a single action — makes sense.

Thought experiment: but that also means if there’s only less than X treasures remaining (total, ie also no discards), I don’t get to draw ANY treasures since I cannot carry out the entire action, right?
Airblader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2023, 08:28 AM   #4
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: Do treasures need to be drawn atomatically?

SOP in card games is to draw what you can, then shuffle and draw the rest. If there is nothing to shuffle, you are out of luck.
Brf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.