Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 03-30-2012, 06:02 AM   #1
giggioz

Default Martial Arts Questions from a Newbie

Hi all,

let me put in these thread some questions about GURPS:

I'm pretty new to GURPS and i've read basic set 4th edition and some pages of Martial Art book.
With the informations I gathered i would like to create an adventure based on martial arts, PCs would be non-cinematic hero with 150 pts each, with a good part of these points devoted to combat skills/advantages/styles.

I would like to create a "final boss" using the Assassin Template (MA, pag 31) to develop an assassin ninja with 150 pts, giving him some cinematic traits.

I would make him very good in thrown weapon (shuriken) so i used SHURIKENJUTSU style (MA, pag 195) to achieve this goal:

Fast-Draw (Shuriken)
Thrown Weapon (Shuriken)
Targeted Attack (Shuriken Throw / Neck)
Ambidexterity
Quick-Swap (Shuriken)
Cinematic:Dual-Weapon Attack (Thrown Shuriken)

Now, i was trying to understand what options he has to use his skills and i found two main options (different from the usual attacks):

Rapid Fire with Thrown Weapons (MA, page 120)
or
Rapid Strike with Thrown Weapons (MA, page 120)
or
(are there other interesting options?)

Rapid Fire assumes he throws all the shuriken together
Rapid Strike assumes he throws all the shuriken one at time

Now, let's assume my boss has

ST 13
Fast-Draw (Shuriken) 17
Thrown Weapon (Shuriken) 17
Targeted Attack (Shuriken Throw / Neck) 15
Cinematic:Dual-Weapon Attack (Thrown Shuriken) 15
Ambidexterity
Quick-Swap (Shuriken)

In case of Rapid Fire

He can throw BL/50 = 34/50=0.68 --> 6 shurikens at once
Damage is 1d-2 (there is an extra -1 because he throws 4 or less shuriken)
Roll to hit is 17 +1 (for Rapid Fire of 6) +/- usual size/speed modifiers