Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Munchkin > Munchkin 101

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2024, 02:29 PM   #1
joshman
 
Join Date: Jan 2024
Default rules for the shadow nose

The card says:

"anything affecting the floating nose will work on its undead shadow, too. But the shadow won't take bribes"

Can the potion of halitosis instantly kill the shadow nose?
and/or does the floating nose have to also be in play at the same time?


I think it does but my friend is arguing with me about it.
joshman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2024, 06:23 PM   #2
Mr_Draco
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default Re: rules for the shadow nose

Personally I agree with your friend. The potion specifically calls out the Floating Nose so I would rule it only instantly kills the Floating Nose.

But let's see if Devin will chime in and get an official answer.
Mr_Draco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2024, 08:57 PM   #3
bonetm
 
bonetm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brazil
Default Re: rules for the shadow nose

The whole point of that "anything affecting" bit is to allow the Halitosis Potion to kill the Shadow Nose
__________________
Igor Toscano
MiB: #1602
bonetm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2024, 09:43 PM   #4
Mr_Draco
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default Re: rules for the shadow nose

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonetm View Post
The whole point of that "anything affecting" bit is to allow the Halitosis Potion to kill the Shadow Nose
I disagree. That line refers to bonuses and negatives that is applied to the Floating Nose if they both are in the same combat.
Mr_Draco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2024, 07:54 PM   #5
joshman
 
Join Date: Jan 2024
Default Re: rules for the shadow nose

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonetm View Post
The whole point of that "anything affecting" bit is to allow the Halitosis Potion to kill the Shadow Nose

This is what I thought. Is this the official answer?
joshman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2024, 08:46 PM   #6
bonetm
 
bonetm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brazil
Default Re: rules for the shadow nose

Quote:
Originally Posted by joshman View Post
This is what I thought. Is this the official answer?
No, I don't officially answer for SJG. But the text is a reminder that the Halitosis Potion, B.O. Curse, which interact with the Floating Nose, also interact with the Shadow Nose.
__________________
Igor Toscano
MiB: #1602
bonetm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2024, 08:27 AM   #7
Brf
 
Brf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default Re: rules for the shadow nose

I think the way the OP and his friend are trying to interpret it is:
When the Floating Nose is affected by a card, then the Shadow Nose is also affected by it.
That is not the intent of "anything affecting". It means that if the card is allowed to affect the Floating Nose, then it is allowed to affect the Shadow Nose the same way.
Brf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.