Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2024, 10:42 AM   #1
Terrainosaur
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Default FAQ?

Hi. Is there an FAQ?

I've played TFT since forever and was surprised by questions from new players today.

1) Can you Charge and not reach any enemy? If so, can you stand still and attack someone who Charges you (assuming you can reach them)?
2) Why can't you Defend in case someone Charges you?

Thanks
Terrainosaur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2024, 12:15 PM   #2
timm meyers
 
Join Date: May 2020
Default Re: FAQ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terrainosaur View Post
Hi. Is there an FAQ?

I've played TFT since forever and was surprised by questions from new players today.

1) Can you Charge and not reach any enemy? If so, can you stand still and attack someone who Charges you (assuming you can reach them)?
2) Why can't you Defend in case someone Charges you?

Thanks
1) yes. You may wish to read "Charge" as a subjective term. Moving 3 or more in a straight line (and of course no more than 1/2 your MA) will result in the bonus of a "charge attack" for pole weapons.

2) You can defend when someone charges you. You are still bound by you turns movement choices (Stood still or moved no more than 1/2 your MA) and you have not already used an action this turn.

TFT combat is trying to model a real time simultaneous situation. Just like most wargames this means the time frame is broken down into segments with various decision points ie phases, turns, actions.
As such you take movement actions, often by alternating sides, then proceed to exchanging blows with weapons, again done in order based on speed and skill.
All of these actions and moves are realistically happening all at once, but seem disjointed and sometimes strange if solely viewed as the game board/rules dictates.

Example. Spearman 1 (MA=10) moves 5 hexes in a straight line ending with no enemy in their front engagement hexes.
Enemy man at arms (MA=10 also) then moves 5 hexes ending up adjacent and engaged to Spearman 1 front hex.
By RAW both the spearman and enemy may choose to attack or defend when it is their turn to strike.

Maybe if you explained the situation your friend had that brought up the questions, we can better define the misunderstanding?
timm meyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2024, 12:19 PM   #3
Shostak
 
Shostak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: New England
Default Re: FAQ?

It is best to not declare what option a figure is taking until their turn to act. This is because your allowable action options are determined by how far you moved and engagement status. So, it is possible to move up to half-MA but be unable to Charge Attack due to not being engaged. In that case, the figure could instead Dodge. If they did not move too far, other options open to them could include Ready an item, Disbelieve, cast a spell.

An FAQ could be helpful—feel free to add one!
__________________
* * * *
Anthony Shostak
myriangia.wordpress.com
Shostak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2024, 12:59 PM   #4
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: FAQ?

See In the Labyrinth page 102: "During a turn, a player may change his mind about a figure’s option, as long as"
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2024, 01:01 PM   #5
Terrainosaur
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Default Re: FAQ?

Ah, thank you both. It's this part that fixes everything.

During a turn, a player may change his mind about a figure’s option, as long as
• that figure has not yet acted, and
• that figure did not move too far to allow it to take the new option.
Terrainosaur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2024, 01:01 PM   #6
Terrainosaur
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Default Re: FAQ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hcobb View Post
See In the Labyrinth page 102: "During a turn, a player may change his mind about a figure’s option, as long as"
Ha you beat me to it!
Terrainosaur is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.