Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > GURPS

Old 10-12-2020, 01:09 PM   #1
Maz

Default Banestorm language question - english?

Hi I am very new to Banestorm.

Reading page 33 in the book. There is a lot about different languages.
However something is unclear to me:

How well would a person with modern day english be able to understand Anglish?

The wording, with the "heavy norman-french influence" reference, seems to indicate that it closely resembles our-world English. But it's not stated outright.

I am planning on running a "people from our modern world ends up on Yrth"-game. However they will be Danish people with a mix of accented-level english in a weird mix of british/american english.
so how well will they understand Anglish?

...I know I could just rule anything from "not at all" to "somewhat" to "perfectly well", depending on what I want. But I am unsure what I actually want yet, so going with "how would it be per the rules" is as good a guideline as any.
Maz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2020, 01:50 PM   #2
Rupert

Default Re: Banestorm language question - english?

From further down p.33, English won't help you. French might if you land in just the right place. Being able to read Classical Arabic and speak either Classical or modern Arabic is good in the Muslim places, and Church Latin is good in Christian lands - these will at least let you speak to scholars and other educated people.

"A pessimist is an optimist with a sense of history."
Rupert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2020, 02:18 PM   #3
Maz

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rupert View Post
From further down p.33, English won't help you.
Ok. I just thoguht part of the point of the setting was that "most people speak almost-english". So words, names, and so on will be "in character" if in english.