Steve Jackson Games - Site Navigation
Home General Info Follow Us Search Illuminator Store Forums What's New Other Games Ogre GURPS Munchkin Our Games: Home

Go Back   Steve Jackson Games Forums > Roleplaying > The Fantasy Trip

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2021, 11:03 AM   #1
larsdangly
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default How do you adjudicate initiating HTH?

The rules governing initiating HTH contain some ambiguities that call for table rulings, and I'm curious how others handle them.

Most importantly, initiating HTH is described both as an 'attack' (implying it occurs during the action phase of the turn) and, more clearly and in multiple places, as part of the movement phase that is resolved during movement.

An additional wrinkle is that you can enter HTH as a regular move if you are disengaged OR using a shift if you are engaged. So, two different types of moves for two different situations.

The question is, how do you handle the frequent situation where a combatant begins the turn disengaged and moves up to a foe who is large enough to engage them and tries to initiate HTH, all as part of the same move?

One interpretation would be that you are free to do so, regardless of facing and the attempt to initiate HTH happens right away, during movement on that first turn.

A second interpretation would be that you must stop as soon as you become engaged by your foe, ending your move, but you may use your action on that same turn to initiate HTH.

A third interpretation would be that you must stop as soon as you become engaged to your foe, ending your move, and you must wait till movement phase of the next turn to initiate HTH by way of a 'shift'.

This is such a universal situation that everyone has to have an interpretation; so what do you do, and why?
larsdangly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2021, 12:16 PM   #2
Shostak
 
Shostak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: New England
Default Re: How do you adjudicate initiating HTH?

I share your concerns, Lars. One of the situations that made me want to revamp the HTH rules was having a player insist that he could initiate HTH in movement and then make an attack on the same turn as his action. My house HTH rules on my occasional blog, Musings from Myriangia. These state that attempting to initiate HTH is always and action, regardless of your engagement status at the beginning of the turn the attempt is made. I've also added some new options and conditions that I hope add to the realism. I'll admit that I've had a player chafe at the idea that making HTH initiation an action sort of looks like someone running up to tackle a foe, stopping when adjacent, waiting for their turn to act, and then tackling. But I maintain that this is all just due to the game conveniently modeling combat with everything more or less happening at once.
Shostak is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2021, 02:14 PM   #3
phiwum
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Default Re: How do you adjudicate initiating HTH?

I use the second interpretation, to wit "you must stop as soon as you become engaged by your foe, ending your move, but you may use your action on that same turn to initiate HTH."

I previously read the rules as saying that even if you initiate HTH in the action phase, you may immediately make an HTH attack. The rules are ambiguous there, but I've come to see that this interpretation makes initiating HTH too darned good. Without this interpretation, if you initiate HTH in the action phase (so you were already engaged), the other guy will get an attack before you do. Makes you think a little bit harder about your options.

One of those times where I had a minority reading on a rule only to later see the wisdom of the more experienced TFT guys. That doesn't mean I'll stop being stubborn, of course. I'm right up until the point I decide I'm wrong.
phiwum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2021, 03:04 PM   #4
hcobb
 
hcobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pacheco, California
Default Re: How do you adjudicate initiating HTH?

My reading is if you can circle around behind the foe then you can enter HTH during movement, but once you are engaged you have to use your action to enter HTH.

The reference to "shift" at ITL 116 indicates the movement done by option (o).
__________________
-HJC
hcobb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2021, 07:15 PM   #5
larsdangly
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Default Re: How do you adjudicate initiating HTH?

I use option 2, above, as well, so you can enter someone's hex freely as part of a move (during the movement phase) if:
- you enter through their side or rear hex side
- they are prone
- you are big enough that they can't engage you (a huge advantage for giants n' such)
- they are unable to pose a threat to you (though not really a factor because I let anyone who can perform any form of attack force engagement)
- you enter someones hex as part of a shift (in some cases this might amount to using option 3, above, though only in the event that you don't use your action on the first turn, as per option 2). I allow this because it is explicitly stated you can do it in the book, and has enough constraints cooked in that it would be hard to abuse.

Based on these rulings, one tactic that makes a certain amount of sense is to run up and engage someone, defend for one turn (assuming you have a dagger or something in your hand or know a high level of UC), and then initiate HTH on the movement phase of the next turn. If you have the right talents or a dagger in hand, this is a pretty good approach to fighting people you know you can take in HTH, yet is also pretty fair because your foe gets a shot at you, and your attack develops slowly enough that they can receive help from an adjacent friend if that's appropriate.

Last edited by larsdangly; 03-27-2021 at 07:18 PM.
larsdangly is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2021, 07:32 PM   #6
phiwum
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Default Re: How do you adjudicate initiating HTH?

I hadn't really thought about your final option: if you start engaged, you can still enter HTH in the movement phase via a shift. I can't see any explicit reason this would be forbidden.

The primary reason that it seems to be unintended is that option (o) (ITL 103) becomes largely superfluous. Why would anyone already engaged not immediately initiate in HTH in the movement phase rather than in the action phase? It would be an odd situation where this is the thing to do.

I'll have to think about whether you can shift to initiate HTH during the movement phase (when you start your movement already engaged). At present, I can't see a strong argument against it.
phiwum is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Fnords are Off
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.